Another day in Ireland’s finest


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Kerry » Dingle Peninsula
June 19th 2023
Published: June 19th 2023
Edit Blog Post

Tea in the morningTea in the morningTea in the morning

How good is this
So we get up bright an early and find another couple of motorhomes had joined us during the night. The sun was shining and I had a cup of tea sat outside next to the beach, not a bad start for a Monday morning is all I can say. We then made our way to Kerry Head which had spectacular views which seems like every corner you turn on this Wild Atlantic Way (WAW). So we then drive to Tralee and I really wanted to visit the Blenneville Windmill which is a working windmill to this day. I get my way - doesn’t a Princess always!! We take a tour of the windmill and I learnt so much and also suddenly realised the the top of the windmill with the blades or sales moves through 360 degrees. it was so interesting. Unfortunately they have not had enough wind for a week so the windmill has stood still but it was still good seeing it and taking the tour. I also learnt that sometimes when you see turrets you think they are castles but if their windows are stacked above each other that means it is not a castle turret but a
Working WindmillWorking WindmillWorking Windmill

Ask me questions as been on a tour so am an expert
windmill - fact of the day. Now all the books and maps say that the Conor Pass is not a good idea for motorhomes. Today we learnt that anything over 2 tons and 7.2 metres is not permitted to do the whole pass. Now we are under 7.2 metres but not under 2 tons so decide that no way can we do the Conor Pass even though it is supposed to be spectacular - we obeyed the sign at the beginning of the pass which forbade you - so we take the alternative easier and permitted route on the N86 and when we got to Dingle we set off on the Dingle penninsula clockwise starting at Ventry going to Slea Head and then the Blasket Centre. So glad we did it clockwise as you would not have liked to meet a coach coming the other way. It appears the coaches go this way around and most traffic so you hardly meet anyone head on.

We stopped at the beehive huts which once again were amazing. They were inhabited in ancient times until 1200AD. You wonder how these could still be standing - people used to live in them and often each one was attached to another via an internal doorway. These huts were made of stone because stone was so plentiful in those days - they are quite small but each one housed one family.



We then complete the Ring of Derry. I am honestly fed up saying how amazing the views are and I am sure you are fed up of hearing this from me. So we nearly complete the Ring of Derry when we see the sign for Irelands most westerly bar - well who could refuse this so we stop for a drink and a pizza - of course pizza in Ireland but it was pepperoni not fish. I am finding this a lot in Ireland. I was really surprised and thought I would be eating my favourite food fish every day and even more shell fish -but probably that is my wrong perception of Ireland.



Well we are now at a campsite as we desperately needed to do some washing as the smalls were getting thin on the ground and I forgot to pack another set of bedding and getting to two weeks or over with the same bedding
Beehive HutsBeehive HutsBeehive Huts

How amazing is this
feels a bit primitive to be honest. Well would you believe it, I put stuff in the washer and put my 3 euros in the slot and could I work out how to get the bugger to start? Knowing that my clock was ticking down I panicked and ran to the gentleman who owns the site, a lovely lovely Irish man who I cannot understand at all when he speaks to me. I say in a raised voice WHY do we do this when abroad if you speak louder it does not make a difference but we do and speak slowly in Queen’s English well it is not Queen’s English now is it it’s King’s English (that sounds so wrong doesn’t it). HOW DO I TURN THE WASHER ON - he says in a lovely softly spoken irish voice, press the start button me lovey do you want me to show you and press START - now how can a princess deal with this but just smile and say oh so sorry -to which he looks and says no problem princess - then I fall in love with an Irish man who is 99 and wears a flat cap who I cannot understand at all but he knows I am a princess!!



I am planning tomorrow doing the Ring of Kerry but to be honest we went through Dingle and it seemed lovely, okay a bit touristy but still somewhere I would like to stop and spend a little bit more time. Now I have planned myself a day fishing at sea sometime and this is getting harder and harder to sort. I saw one trip at 430 euros per person - well lets get a grip. I am a complete novice apart from once river fishing in Zambia so no way are we going to dish this money out. I am hoping I might find a small craft in Dingle to take us tomorrow which means the Ring of Kerry will have to take a back seat for the day - fingers crossed.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.375s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1185s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb