Ireland The South. Day 6


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Kerry » Castlemaine
September 15th 2016
Published: September 15th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Ireland Day 6
The journey south continues along the Dingle Peninsula around the coast to Shanahil West, near to Castlemaine. This is recommended as one of the must see routes in Ireland. After tootling around the one way system in Tralee I took a nice smooth cycleway alongside the river and then on a pretty nondescript road heading west into the wind and a brief bit of drizzle. the O’Connor pass was a bit stiff with the continuing head wind and a climb for 7km or do at 7-10 %. With the panniers on it was a grind and quite narrow towards the summit and made Fleet Moss look like a pimple. However, it was followed down a great decent into Dingle where I had lunch basking in the sun. Dingle is a nice town with a fishing harbour, loads of shops and pubs in all their Irish gaudy colours. Worth a short visit. Heading back along towards Castlemaine the wind was at my tail and I flew along until I hit a 150 metre hill of 9% at Annascaul. Only to drop down the other side to the road I should have been on if I had not plotted the minor road. To add to the chagrin it was raining on the top and the view was 100 metres. This is why it is better to recce such a route rather than have grounds for a mutiny when 10 cyclists are with you and not feeling kind. Passing Inch Bay there were some small waves and some people having surging lessons. Rather them than me in these cool conditions. It would need to be 30 degrees C to get me in. My accommodation, Brigadoon House, 7km short of Castlemaine, looks a bit neglected from outside and I was a bit worried as I approached. However, I changed my mind rapidly as I went inside. The place is exceptionally modern and clean and the couple who own it are really nice plying me with tea and scones on my arrival. This reminds me of the Jolly Farmers B & B in Kirkby Stephen where you are met with cream scones and tea in China cups. I can fully recommend Brigadoon House. The downside is the nearest pub for food tonight is 3km away. I will cycle there since I have lights, although to be fair they did say they would drive me there.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Breakfast at Benners. Breakfast at Benners.
Breakfast at Benners.

Best this week.


Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0381s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb