The Nutcracker


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Galway
November 30th 2016
Published: December 12th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Our final cultural event as API Fall 2016 was a showing of The Nutcracker at the Town Hall. Good thing I actually knew where the town hall was at this point. Anyway, Erin and I went to dinner beforehand - Brooke was at the pit of her sickness and didn't end up making it to the show at all. We got to the Town Hall and waited for everyone to arrive. Finn came, and then her cousin with the two girls. I was honestly so excited to see them. I had told Finn she had to take them because even though they were little and they had school the next day they would absolutely love it. She handed out our tickets and although my ticket was for a different seat, I of course had to sit next to my little munchkin Roisin. The show started at 8:00pm which is also her bedtime, so Finn was a little bit worried about how she was going to be. She ended up being wonderful, and although she was close to falling asleep a few times, she made it. She is also one stubborn little girl! Even though she's a little bit of a thing and could hardly see over the seats in front of her, she refused to sit on anyone's lap, preferring to sit in her own seat and maneuver herself to see. She got scared during the rat scene, which was quite understandable. She asked the funniest questions too, and loved the fake snow. Roisin's stubbornness and persistence reminded me so much of myself. My heart melted when at the end, when she was at her most tired, she crawled into my lap and almost fell asleep. Every time I am with her and Aisling they make me remember how much I love kids and how much I cannot wait to teach. Finn later told us how much Aisling loved the show, saying it was the best night of her life. That was absolutely adorable. It was a night where I didn't have to worry about anything. I could watch the pure beauty of a ballet, and the pure joy of a child watching it. Seeing the ballet through a five year old's eyes is incredible because I saw everything with a newfound appreciation. She was in awe of the dresses and costumes, and while I was too, seeing her face made me really see the costumes and their beauty.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.396s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1812s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb