Derry to Galway


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Galway » Galway
July 29th 2013
Published: July 30th 2013
Edit Blog Post

After being woken up by the fire alarm in the hotel at 6 am, we had breakfast and began our journey to Galway. I do enjoy a good Irish breakfast, however by the eighth day in a row I'm over it. Haha, I am sure after a few days of toast and cereal I'll be ready to enjoy it again.

There are a few differences between American life and British/Irish (or quite possibly any other country) life. Hotels do not have air conditioning; last night the temperature was quite warm, so it was a bit uncomfortable. I have no idea what the temperature was because I can't convert the Celsius into Fahrenheit. Math is not my best skill and converting euros and the British pound is enough math for me. There is no fat free milk, only part skim which still tastes like regular milk. There are no washcloths in the hotel bathrooms. I've had to use hand towels as washcloths. You need to put your room key in a slot by the door to turn on the power in the room, and each socket has a on/off switch to turn on before a plug will have power. You have to pay to use some of the public restrooms. The best thing is that somehow I have not freaked out experiencing these cultural differences. Haha, my American anxiety is decreasing each day.



It was a long drive to Galway from Derry. We stopped in a town called Silgo for lunch. It was yet another quaint Irish town. The people are helpful, warm, and friendly. After arriving in Galway a few hours later, we had some time to explore the city. Galway is absolutely the most charming city I've visited yet. It's open Eyre Square and shopping/restaurants are bustling with people because it is the Galway Races this week. Think Belmont! We walked around and popped into a couple of pubs. Then we had to head to our hotel and cheek in. Then, it was dinner...delicious Irish Stew (tasted like my Ma's) at great pub then went to explore the city's pubs at night. Many people are all decked out from the races. It was great to have a few pints and chat with the locals. Tomorrow we are headed to the Aran Islands...can't wait to bike around the island and buy an authentic Aran sweater!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0639s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb