Day 8 – From 202 to 101


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Galway » Galway
July 23rd 2012
Published: July 23rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

The title of this blog needs work. I’m aware. I feel like the further I get into this trip, the less exciting my blog is. Rather than talk about Ireland, I’m just enjoying it. Everyday when I wake up, I can’t believe that I’m in Ireland. Even after a week, I’m still in awe of the splendor and beauty of this amazing country. We are at the point in our trip where rather than doing all of the stereotypical touristy things like tours we are just wandering. The good kind of wandering though, where you happen upon an authentic Irish pub or an ancient cemetery or what not. I feel more like a resident than a tourist.





Today we ventured out to the Aran Islands. They are an extension of Ireland, separate from Galway and/or Galway County. There are 3 different islands with names I can’t pronounce or spell. We went to the mainland. It was about an hour and a half trip by bus and ferry.



When we arrived, we immediately got on a bus for a tour. The island is rather small so the tour, needless to say, was brief. The island has a few different areas of cliffs where they host cliff diving competitions. Like the Cliffs of Moher, the edge of the cliff is completely accessible to the public. Many of my classmates chose to lie down and practically hang over the edge of the cliff. Personally, I couldn’t do it. Way too scary. BUT I still managed some good pictures.



The weather has gone back to being rainy. In Ireland instead of saying “It’s a rainy day” one would say “It’s a soft day”. I love this saying because the rain that we’ve gotten is mainly just a light, soft mist. Refreshing compared to the heat of Alabama!



We went as a group to a pub called Joe Watty’s, which is the popular hangout on the island. It was an exciting atmosphere with many local people and a very exciting band.

My blogs may be getting shorter but there is no shortage of the adventures I’m experiencing.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.217s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0386s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb