A chance for change . . .


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Galway » Galway
November 5th 2008
Published: November 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Its 5:25AM here in Ireland. Brian has been watching the election coverage on the laptop since midnight our time while my mom sent texts with every update as each state’s decision was made. Her texts came in seconds before Brian told me similar information, and with each state deciding on change, our anticipation grew more and more. And when the text came through that Obama was our president, and tears came to my eyes as Brian showed me coverage of people cheering, uniting, and embracing around the world, one particular thought came to my mind that drove me to grab my laptop at this ungodly hour. For years I’ve found it difficult to say where I’m from when I travel. Even living in Ireland when people ask I respond with “California” or “San Francisco” so as not to be labeled and stereotyped with the thoughts and feelings that come to mind about our country when you are discovered to be an “American.” But tonight, I am extremely proud to be one. Change has been made. Something that started so small with only hope to keep it going has shook the nation and most likely the world. Its an incredible feeling knowing that the next time I talk to my students about what they can do in this world and in their lifetime, hope and belief have whole new meanings. And when they question or look at me in disbelief, I can tell them of this day. So thank you. Thank you to all of you who believed, voted, and took a chance on change. It is our time. I’m once again extremely proud to be an American.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



5th November 2008

here here
Amen T. amen. A chance for change. A divided nation in divisive times to come together.
10th November 2008

I love the progression
Sit before you walk, and walk before you run.

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 12; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0345s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb