So I hear getting a work visa in Ireland isn't so hard....


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Galway » Galway
July 22nd 2008
Published: July 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello from Galway, Ireland!! I've been here for two nights already and decided to stay for another, just because it's so great here! Yesterday I took a bus tour to the Cliffs of Moher, which was Gorgeous!!! I still haven't figured out how to put my pictures up but as soon as I figure it out, they will be up! I got to learn a lot about the history of Ireland and actually found the tour really interesting. It's still gray and gloomy here, but everyone is so nice and I'm enjoying myself so much that the weather doesn't really even matter. Bank of America shut off my credit card for two days, so that was a boat load of fun to take care of but I finally figured it out... after a wasted 25 euro phone call (yeah that's like $45 p.s.), a teary phone call home, 8,000 unsuccessful attempts at collect calls and 40 minutes online with a Bank of America representative. Haha...oh well just a small stepping stone, I'm sure worse things could happen. Last night I did a pub crawl with some people from my hostel and actually met two people from Boston. They were wicked cool and we ended up meeting some great people. Some nice Irish guys taught me how they dance in Ireland...basically just flop around and look as stupid as possible, but I had a BLAST mimicking them 😊 They bought me some beers, which by the way, if there is Bulmers in the U.S. and you like ciders..try it...it's amazing and I'm going to miss it when I'm gone!! Apparently all the Irish men love Americans and everyone I meet tells me that I'm going to fall in love while I'm here...yeah don't worry, hasn't happened yet, probably won't. Lol. Especially once I get other places where I can't understand what they are saying! I actually had my first run-in with the language barrier. I met two French people who could BARELY speak English. A few words here and there but not very well. Anyways, we played charades for about an hour and actually managed to have a 'conversation' I guess you could call it. It was a lot of fun, but EXHAUSTING!!! I am definately in for a suprise when I get to other countries. Apparently Ireland has the nicest, most English-speaking people....Great...haha I'm going to be screwed in France. Spain I can handle myself slightly. But Germany and Italy? Ha. Expect a lot of frustrated blogs to come. So how is everyone?? How are all my Tina's girls? I miss you all to death...I don't really miss home yet, just the people there...but I'm definately looking forward to going to Spain to try REAL tapas and Sangria....see if all those foreigners that come in claiming it's not the same are right....I'll let ya know....By the way, I AM getting all of your comments and messages, I just can't respond to messages unless you are subscribed and when I reply to comments, it just gets mixed in with the general comment board, so be sure to look there because I'll reply there too. Next on my list is Killarney, Ireland and the Dingle peninsula, which is southwest Ireland. From there, I'll be heading to Cork for a few nights and off to kiss the Blarney stone before going back to Dublin to fly to Barcelona. I'll keep posting! Thanks for the messages and comments! They are great to see when I'm having lonely, down time....and I love to hear from everyone!!! Anything new going on??? Any new news? How are the Sox?? What am I saying? I'm checking that right now, it's been way too long since I've paid attention to sports! I'll talk to you soon! Miss you! xoxox

P.s. My hostel showers don't have curtains. Just VERY see-through glass doors in a COMMUNITY bathroom. I am definately stepping out of every comfort zone I've ever had on this trip lol....and apparently the more east I go, the worse they get....ooohhh boy......



Advertisement



22nd July 2008

haha
Your too funny. I was thinking to myself the other day that you were going to fall in love there. It will be easy....just try not too because then it will put a damper on all the rest of the cute boys you would meet :) And I want you to come back of course! I NEED to go to ireland...so jealous. The boy that I fell in love with at Oktoberfest in Germany is from Cork. I can't even remember his name now but we were in love. I want to see pics! xoxoxoxox
23rd July 2008

hey hun
hey hun!! so glad to hear you are having a blast...so id figure id give u the latest on the boston sports..hehe im sure u are looking online but im still up in boston so i wanna do it :) the red sox totally blew it this past wknd in LA after the all star break and got swept by the angels...its alright though cuz the angels are a really good team.....i am sitting now waiting 2 watch them play against the mariners...we are .5 back from good ol tampa!! grrr...but they are losing now and we are gonna win tonight so it should be ok..and the best part of the week is that the pats start training camp thursday morning!! woo ho :) neways...so glad to hear all your details and im loving this blog thing! i miss you already...i changed my flight cuz im loving boston and not ready to go back :) well i love you and meet some hot irish men!! love u
23rd July 2008

Mom...
i can't believe I am talking to you on a computer!! It's about time! I miss you guys to death but I'm loving it here!!! How are things at home? I wish I could be there for the fundraiser....I'm sure it's going to be a good time. Tell everyone I say hello! Love and miss you!
24th July 2008

Dad Here
I Celina-Lynn, iit sounds like your having a ball, just what"s is is all about. I told mom (I would help with the bennifit, being a survivor of the big C, its the least I can do. So hope all is well,BE SAFE please, I LOve You and I will see you later. Dad
24th July 2008

Hope you're getting my comments and e-mails. None of them are showing up. Maybe today. Love you, Gram

Tot: 0.467s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0859s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb