Finding the Perfect Doughnut


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Galway » Galway
January 29th 2007
Published: January 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Heaven in Food FormHeaven in Food FormHeaven in Food Form

The Doughnut Stand with St. Nicholas Church in the background
This was the first unscheduled Saturday we have spent in Galway since we arrived on January 3rd, so three of us API girls headed down to the market in the city center. This market pops up every Saturday, and is an excellent display of the city’s constant energy. I don’t think I have ever walked around when the streets weren’t reasonably crowded (including random times like Wednesday afternoons), but the market was especially packed with both locals and other tourists. (I think I need another term - tourist seems to have expired now that I’ve been here a month, but I haven’t come up with anything better. Oh well.) Anyway, there were stands with jewelry, hats, scarves, and other such accessories - for those who know me, you’ll be glad to know I resisted . . . at least for now. The best part, however, was all the freshly made food. There were stands with crepes, pitas, muffins, sausages, hummus . . . the list goes on. I decided to visit the doughnut stand that we heard about from another visiting American student; after buying two I had to return for three more. AMAZING, let me tell you . . .
YummynessYummynessYummyness

Katie and Emily displaying the market's goodness
they’re the kind that just melt in your mouth when you eat them. Wow. I could go on for quite a while about the quality of these doughnuts, but that would just make you and me hungry. You’ll just have to try them for yourselves. Basically, I think they may be the deciding factor in me wanting to live here forever.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

The Cheese StandThe Cheese Stand
The Cheese Stand

One of the many places where I was tempted to spend too much money
The Muffin StandThe Muffin Stand
The Muffin Stand

And another . . .


Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0315s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb