Updates & Day trip to Howth


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Howth
February 12th 2011
Published: February 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

some friendssome friendssome friends

me, caroline, and whitney

Dublin Updates



So I have come to the conclusion that my love for Dublin grows every day I'm here. The beginning of my semester here was the epitome of a roller coaster as I went back and forth between my excitement for being here and loving all of the new people I met to feeling lost and confused and homesick. But after solidifying some great friendships and learning to live as the Irish do, I can safely say I absolutely love it here.

Some of my favorite things include:

1. The people - There is a degree of kindness and trust here unlike anything you'll see in the states. People will help you out that don't even know you. If you're short change at a cafe they just let you just take it. When you finish dinner out with friends they don't harass you to take the check and leave, you will usually stay for another half an hour or hour or so and just relax. It makes you realize how rushed and stressed people can be back home.
2. The lack of chains. I love that every corner of Dublin has different cafes, pubs, shops, everything. Back home every street will have: Moes, Mcdonalds, starbucks, subway, etc. but here it's all about the little coffee shops, bakeries, and pubs. It's refreshing!
3. the fact that school is a joke. i don't do anything. And I'm not saying that as though I am just being lazy and avoiding my work, there IS no work. For example, for my political philosophy class I have 2 essays. The first essay just got assigned, is due in 1 month, and the topic is to describe what I think a Utopian government would be like. I honestly think I did that exact same paper in 7th grade. I don't have to cite any philosophers or even do outside reading, I'm just supposed to creatively design a government... Absolute joke.


Also, as of a few days ago I am officially allowed to be in Ireland until June 1st. I got approved by the government after about a month of trying to find specific documents and get my Irish bank account. It was a bit of a hellish procedure but I'm finally done!

Howth Day Trip



So my friends and I decided today that we were going to get up and take the dart (the subway) to a local seaside village called Howth. It was SO fun and very beautiful. We had lunch at a little cafe and got fish and chips and then got some coffee later. I've attached some photos but it was a really good break from the city to just kind of walk around the harbor and explore the town.

I'll probably have more to update on and more photos after mom, Tom, and the boys come next week!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0509s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb