Ireland


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin » Ballsbridge
August 10th 2015
Published: August 10th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Additional maps: Downtown Dublin

The winter of 2014 in Dublin was no joke. Being from Chicago I figured I could adapt to the climate, however I came to terms that it was unbearably cold. Dublin was a very quick one day trip, so my apologies for those who expected more on this blog. Upon my arrival trinity college was my first visit, loved the architecture, but I was saddened to find that the library and the book of Kells exhibit was closed due to the holiday season. So off to a pub I went. Along the way I ran into St. Patrick's Cathedral, simply amazing! I've seen some massive churches in my day, but this one takes the crown. Outside from every angle, I tried to squeeze my body into the massiveness of the church when snapping a selfie, but failed, there was no way to do so. Inside was breathtaking as battered flags hung above from wars, flags that have seen battle and tells its story. The precision and detail that grabs the eye....mimics every wall, ceiling, winding stair case and title which you'll step and feel a sudden throwback into time, it's simply amazing. Back on the street, I headed to the Temple Bar and several other pubs in the surrounding area. It wasn't a Friday night, but yet lively enough to bring in a random musician into the bar to spread some love, and with that, I sipped my Guinness. Dublin Castle and some other random pop ups grabbed my attention when passing by, but the cold breeze that forever surrounded us that day was is full command, and we pressed on. I do wish that I had more time to do Dublin right, to be able to feel my feet after walking for hours. I glad that I met you Dublin, until we meet again. One thing that I didn't mention, my apologies, was along the way I did manage to visit the ancient site of Newgrange which surpasses the Great Pyramids in Egypt by 500yrs. Truly a piece of work done non other than by beings from out of this world, non-human, you'll realize this once you visit and try to make sense of how this was even created.

Until we meet again Ireland,

Cheers


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0326s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb