I walked into another country today


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Donegal
March 14th 2008
Published: March 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

A few days ago, I went for a run and attempted to run into County Donegal which is apart of the Republic of Ireland, so I could officially say that I ran into another country. Well, it was a great success, but I quickly ran back into Northern Ireland. Today, I went for an exceedingly long walk into the Republic. When you enter the Republic, the signs quickly change with some of the road signs in Irish with English translations. Furthermore, the speed limits are in kilometers and not miles as they are in the North. Eventually, I found myself in a rural town called Burnfoot (which adequately describes my feet at the time). I got to see some of rural Ireland (lots and lots of sheep and the pleasant smell of the country). Some children looked at me like I was an alien or something (well...maybe), but I said Hi and they responded. While I was walking, my phone (oh! how I love my Orange phone from Nokia ) told me that I was in another country and it would cost me 38 pence to call to another country. They also told me to enjoy my stay which was around an hour or two. After walking back, I stopped by the Indian restaurant (the officially licensed Indian restaurant called Chili's) and got something to eat. I need to get some papers done because all three are due in the first half of April and spring break is coming up which is two weeks for me (I'm going to Scotland and hopefully, Galway or another city in the Republic). I will be celebrating St. Patrick's Day here in Derry and leave for Scotland the next day. I hope everyone has an excellent St. Paddy's and I will try to post something about that when the time is right. Thanks

Matt


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement



Tot: 0.4s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1375s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb