Republic of Ireland Day 3. Doolin


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Clare
September 4th 2017
Published: September 4th 2017
Edit Blog Post

County ClareCounty ClareCounty Clare

Awaiting restoration.
Ireland Day 3. Doolin
Late breakfast today at 9am at the George Hotel after a noisy night and early morning lorries collecting waste and Road sweeping. The light rain is a bit off putting and I think the cape is required until it disappears. The only problem is I cannot see my Garmin when the cape is over the bars. I am reminded of my trip last year on this very day and with exactly the same weather, where I arrived at the first cafe in Kinvarra like a drowned rat with water running all over the cafe floor. Embarrassing. As predicted the rain persisted until Kinvara, at which point I took off my rain gear and had a coffe and scone in the cafe. Whilst the day was cloudy it was quite warm at about 17 degrees C and a strong SW wind. Guess which direction we were going in. Yes, you guessed it. Luckily I hid behind Shirley for part of the time, who was going g like a train. Lunch was at the Deli in Ballyvaughan outside on a picnic bench. I collected some tap water there but it did not tast too well, but better than that
KinvaraKinvaraKinvara

Dunguaire Castle
from the hotel toilet wash basin tap this morning, which had bleach on I think. Along the way after lunch we found a small building at the roadside which was a well providing excellent water so I filled up my bottle for the third time today. It was a good job too since I drank it all during the last 30km to Doolin. The coastline today was very rugged and picturesque and the Atlantic was particularly rough as we headed to Doolin with water spouting up the rocks and big rollers coming in. It was at this point I got a text message from Birthday Bill to say that Denis's chain had broken and he was fixing it at the roadside about 10 km back. Another message followed to say he was mobile again, which was a relief as I didn't fancy doing those hills again into the gentle 20 mph breeze. Arriving at 5.30 we had time to tidy up before Bill claimed the bathroom at the Killilea BnB with his oily hands (and clothes) at 6.30pm. Great lamb shank at McGann's in Doolin followed by live Irish music. I was nodding at 9.30 and not too keen on the reels they were playing as they sounded like bagpipes with a leak. Sorry if I am upsettongbthe purists. Bed at ten to be ready for the 200km tomorrow.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0958s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb