Arrival in Ennis


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Clare » Ennis
August 25th 2004
Saved: September 15th 2021
Edit Blog Post

The flight from London was pretty cloudy, but when we descended into Shannon airport, the clouds broke to reveal misty green fields. Just how I imagined it! The bus ride to Ennis was spectacular--past colourful cottages and houses, past the Shannon estuary, where the sun brok through in a few places, bathing bits of the water and fields in that golden sun of late afternoons.

I wandered around Ennis a bit in the evening (it really didn't take long, but it's such a charming place, with narrow winding streets). By 8:30pm, I was ready to go to sleep, but the South Africans in my room at the hostel convinced me to go out for a bite to eat, and to listen to some live music. I don't think they realized that I had just arrived off the plane.

By 10:30pm, we had made friends with a local couple, the music was great, and the Guinness was tasty. It was a fantastic first night in Ireland.

Today I'm off to Doolin for three nights, to see the Cliffs of Moher and the Burren.

COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader_blog_bottom



Comments only available on published blogs

Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0287s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb