Hungary


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary
July 16th 2014
Published: July 16th 2014
Edit Blog Post

So I successfully made it to Budapest from Miami, on a 9 hour flight. I had an entire row of three seats to myself so I was happy about the leg room.

Out of all the wedding guests Chris and Agi thought I was the least likely to get lost! I wanted to go to Nyekladhaza which is one side of Hungary and someone I asked for help thought I wanted to go to Nyreghaza which is on the other side of hungary! There was some mix up with getting to the right train station. I was meant to arrive at 5pm and I got there at 945 pm. On the positive side I managed to do an extensive tour of Hungary on the way. I feel like I prevented many other guests making the same mistakes!

The Hungarian currency is in Florint, its about 200 to one NZD, that the airport I meant to get out 120 NZ I messed up the conversion and got out 1200! Opps. In my defence I had been up for 24 hours with only two hours sleep in the middle.

The wedding was in half English and half Hungarian. It was a bit complicated as we both had customs and expectations that we assumed the other would know about, but they didn’t. So for me and Chris we were always getting surprised with what would happen next.

I was planning to buy good shoes over here as I didn’t bring any, they were too hard to carry round the US. I went to buy some, the only problem is I’m a Hungarian size 48 and they only go up to size 46 in Hungary so I wore my walking shoes with the suit!

For the bachelor party we went bowling and played air hockey.

I had to give a speech in English which would be translated into Hungarian. The problem with this is one you lose momentum and you never quite know how the other audience will take it or if they will get the jokes. Interestingly enough, the English would laugh at some of the jokes and the Hungarians would laugh at others but both groups didn’t find the same things funny.

I had the rings in my pocket for most of the day, literally every five minutes I was checking my pockets to make sure I still had both rings, I did not want to repeat the scene from Four Weddings and a Funeral. And yes I got both rings and Chris to the Church without any problems. I suppose if I lost one of the rings at least one person could have got married.



Overall it was an amazing wedding and Chris and Agi make a wonderful couple.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.282s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0368s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb