Missing warmth of Asia


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary » Central Hungary » Budapest
February 18th 2017
Published: February 18th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Um it's cold in Europe. Yeah I know I shouldn't be surprised it's February but Budapest is crazy ass cold. I spent a 1.5 in Zagreb, Croatia where it was cold and cloudy. But now I'm in Budapest, where I had bright idea to walkaround first evening I was here. I proceeded to walk to first store and buy a better hat and thicker scraf (my fancy silk scarves from Cambodia were not cutting it)! Day 2 I decided to do a bus tour which was smartest thing I could have done. Seriously I get it may just have forgotten what the weather can be like but Budapest is cold people!!!
First day was also extremely foggy and the people are bit move it along. So the opposite of Asia where everyone likes to chat for hours. They aren't unfriendly, just less approachable. I did have an enjoyable conversation with a couple of restaurant owners as well as a store owner. The store owner was highly amused that I was buying a pair of Columbia socks. He nicely told me "you're American?? These socks are from Portland, Oregon!!!ahahaha" seriously he laughed for ages. I told him yeah my feet are very excited to wear these Portland, Oregon socks in Budapest Hungary. He continued to laugh at me and then asked me for my phone number. I passed. But don't worry I bought those wonderfully warm socks and feet were very appreciative.
Today it's still cold (I know spoiler alert) BUT the sun is out a bit. I can actually see some of the architecture and the beauty. I'm glad the lady talked me into a 2 day bus tour because I'm doing the tour again so I can see the things I missed and stop at a few places I didn't whilst being warm😊
Budapest you warm my heart, even if you aren't warming the rest of me ? (I know my picture is sideways but I couldn't switch it and now have to go to my parliament tour!!!)


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



20th February 2017

?
?

Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0293s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb