Dentists in Budapest


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary » Central Hungary » Budapest
August 3rd 2012
Published: August 3rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

As I required seven dental implants I had been researching the market and dentistry abroad for some time. The price has come down in the UK but they are still cheaper in Hungary so I decided to travel to meet some dentists in Hungary. I flew to Budapest which is a beautiful city. There is so much history here with a lot of the major European civilisations coming through here at some stage. The Romans were here, as were the Ottomans for many years. It was in a period of piece where it was jointly governed by the Austrians that most of the architecture you will see today was created. A lot of it was destroyed during World War II but the recreation efforts have been magnificent.



I stayed in a Pest which is the more touristic side of the city (local residents prefer to live in Buda as there is more space and parks). My hotel was located near to the square at Deak Ferenc. The weather was almost 40 degrees. Hot in the City!! I was glad the hotel had a nice spa area to relax in each day after I had been out visiting dentists. I visited three dentists. One was not good. Its clinic was small and a little dirty. However the other two were very good. One is based in a hotel and the dentist had good English and seemed to understand my situation very well. The third was also very nice. I have some nice food for thought now.



On the last day of my trip, it turned into a bit of a disaster. I left my bag in the lobby of the hotel with all the other bags as instructed by the receptionist. When I returned to the hotel later that day, my bag was nowhere to be found. I ended up talking to the front of house manager who went through the video of reception for the day. He saw me checking out and leaving my bag in the left luggage are. Later he saw a bell boy remove my bag from the lobby and place it on a bus. It transpired that one of the bell boys had placed my bag on a bus that had left Budapest that day. The bus and my bag was now 120km outside of Budapest.



The manager was initially quite helpful and accepted partial liability and we discussed our options. Either stay another night and get a flight in the morning or send a driver to get my bag which was now apparently in a petrol station. The manager decided to send a car to drive to the petrol station where my bag had been left and collect it. As it was now about 5.30 and boarding for my flight closed at 8.20 we decided it was best for the car to meet me at the airport. The manager felt this was the best option and there was a 90%!c(MISSING)hance we would make it. The manager accepted partial liability for the situation and wanted to split the £110 cost of the car 50%!e(MISSING)ach. I disagreed and refused to accept any liability. In the end to solve the situation and get a flight that night I agreed to pay 50%!o(MISSING)f the car cost. I travelled to the airport and arrived at 7.30. Unfortunately the car arrived in the airport at 8.40, 20 minutes after my gate had closed.



I travelled back to the hotel. My only option at this point was to stay one more night in Budapest and book a flight for the following day. After all that had happened the hotel insisted on charging me e85 for another room. At this point I had enough bad treatment in Zara Hotel for one day and went to another hotel for the night. I booked a Ryanair flight for tomorrow. The whole episode cost me £250 and the hotel is refusing to compensate me for any of it.



One thing for sure is I will definitely not be staying here when I go back to get my dental implants.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.033s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb