Sting in Budapest


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary » Central Hungary » Budapest
June 6th 2004
Published: June 6th 2004
Edit Blog Post

I think this has to be the largest concert I've ever attended. In the city park Budapest, there is a large area designed for use as a stage. For the last three years Westel - one of Hungary's mobile telephone providers has paid for a promotional concert in the park. Joe Cocker and Elton John were the previous years stars. This year Sting.
Free to attend and promoted like crazy all over Hungary the concert was always going to be busy - but I've never seen anything like it, I'm waiting for statistics but rumours of 400,000 or more people are flying about at the moment, I could believe more. I never even got close enough to the stage to actually physically see the stars with my own eyes. Sara and I only managed to get to see the huge TV screens, about 5 or 6 screens back. Westel have become part of the T-Mobile group, so they were making sure there rebranded look was seen everywhere, including on the luminescent pink airship floating overhead. There was a really great atmosphere, a kind of happy resignation to the fact that there was very little chance to get to see the stars, but the sound was good even at the back.
I've always liked Sting's music, he has a really distinctive voice and some nice songs. I love some of the hits from the Police, such as, Every Breath You Take and Roxanne, and then again from the solo days - Fields of Gold - these are classic songs known the world over. I was really glad that he played these songs, including the old favourites, plus a few new ones. The biggest cheers were reserved for the old songs as ever. Stinigs concert lasted for 2 hours, whole families turned up, Suzanne Vega was the supporting star. Homegrown talent in the form of Toth Vera, the winner of Megastar (Hungarian Pop Idol) sang at some point in the afternoon.
Sunday - fixed things in my girlfriend's mum's flat, walked round the Castle with my camera, some nice shots, caught the train back to Pecs.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

StatueStatue
Statue

In front of the National Gallery


Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 27; dbt: 0.04s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb