Buda. Pest.


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary » Central Hungary » Budapest
July 10th 2009
Published: July 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This will be another quick one...

I'm facing my 3rd night in a sleeper train - which is saving me money on hostels, but I'm slowly crossing the border from smelly and oily to really quite rancid. I may be forced to use the train shower...shudder with me now.

The train from Istanbul to Bucharest was pretty ghetto and hot, but definitely way better than toughing it out in a hard seat for 20 hours. I'll have to save my stories for another time, but hilarity ensues when the train staff speak Russian...only. My 1 year of Russian didn't quite prepare me for that.

Last night was the train from Bucharest to Budapest - I was lucky to have the cabin to myself, and it was an amazing sunset ride up through the Transylvanian Alps. Then, moonlit jagged peaks as I dozed off.

I've had the whole day in Budapest, again that'll have to wait. It's cold and rainy here too. In a couple hours I get on another sleeper for Munich, and tomorrow hopefully will end up in Copenhagen.

At which time, I will have pictures to share and stories to tell. Danke. Or whatever Hungarian is for that sentiment.

-steve g


Advertisement



Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0806s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb