Budapest, Beerfest, Bridges, and more things that begin with B.


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary » Central Hungary » Budapest » Buda
September 9th 2013
Published: September 9th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Seriously. My weekend. What.

First of all, despite countless research on my washing machine and trying different ways to wash the same load of clothes, I'm getting the exact same results. So, this is my life now. Buying liquid detergent tomorrow.

Ok. So Friday I get home and grab Chaz from the train station which has, like, 2 benches. We walk across the bridge to my place and then go out with Liz and Darcy. We go to this party hostel called Instant, which has about a million rooms. Can't wait to get lost in there in the future.

Then we try another club called Hello Baby (I know). First of all, these random people in line wanted to take pictures with us. I don't know. I get in, look behind me to see if my friends are following me, and they shut these giant doors behind me and in front of me. So I'm awkwardly quarantined in this room for about 2 minutes while my friends are yelling at me because Chaz couldn't get in with his flip flops. Second world problems. Then we go home. Exciting.

Saturday I wake up and Darcy and I are people watching from my balcony (I have two. Yes). The prime minister's daughter got married at the church I can see from my flat, and the paparazzi were on the street below my window. So this older couple gets out of a car and snap snap snap go the cameras. Darcy and I are just laughing and talking. All of a sudden the paparazzi notices that we're there and boom. All cameras and video cameras trained on us. I mean, what? I had no idea what to do in that situation. So I'm pretty sure I was on the Hungarian news or something.

When we stopped being on TV we went to Marxim pizza with a bunch of people. Darcy and I get a pizza called Snow White and the 7 Small Proletarians. Other names of pizzas include Pussy Pussy Monica Bill. So...that's a thing. Good pizza close to my flat, though! From Marxim we try to go to the chocolate festival, but it's PACKED, so we got gelato and went to Beerfest. Rough life. Turns out the craft beerfest was in that little square my hostel window overlooked. Memories.

Basically we spent the rest of the day hanging out and drinking craft beer. I found myself a spicy Chili beer which made my day. Because, you know...it sucked before that...

I found a bunch of people who love Game of Thrones and Arrested Development. So, basically, I'm home.

After beerfest, we realized that we hadn't eaten for a while. Oops. So naturally, we all go get gyros from some hole in the wall place. I think I'm in heaven with the gyros here. I don't even know what they put in them. They pointed and I said yes. Good decisions. Right next to the gyro place was a 24 hour store, so we grabbed some beers (you know, because we hadn't had enough) and decided to drink them on the bridge. And by that, I mean ON the bridge. Like the green part that swoops down and makes bridges look cool. We had lots of people taking pictures of us, which wasn't at all awkward. Why is that the theme to my weekend?

When it got freaking cold, we went out. We went to a really fun club that didn't have a lot of people. So we took up the whole dance floor and had a grand old time. Then when Sam couldn't get back in, we went to a dive bar that was also really fun. From there we went home.

Sunday morning Chaz, Adam, Sam, and I went to brunch at this place called Most (pronounced Mosht because of the whole s is sh thing). I had eggs benedict (thank god). So tasty. Then, because it was a Hungarian restaurant, we didn't get our desserts for about an hour. Adam said this happens sometimes where you just don't get your food. And they don't reimburse you or anything. So...that's cool. After asking, we finally got it and then waited another hour for our check. Hungarian service.

We hopped on the metro and met Caroline on the Buda side of the green bridge we sat on Saturday night. We all hiked up to the Citadel and sightseed (it's telling me that's not a word. But I want it to be) for a while. Gorgeous panoramic views of the city. I didn't bring my camera though because I thought lunch would take less than 2 hours (god forbid) and would have time to go back and, you know, put on sneakers and grab my camera. Silly me. We met this guy from California named Fred at the top who was shocked that we were teachers. Like, physically taken aback ("but you all look so young!"). Thanks, Fred. He was pretty cool though. Traveling around Europe with his partner.

We walked back down and found this...thing. It was like a semi circle with columns and a statue in front of it. You can see it in the pictures. We each took a spot between columns and hung out while this couple made out furiously right in between the columns that separated us. We wanted to get Thai food, so we walked for a while, but it was Sunday, so of course it was closed. We eventually got pizza. We were all excited about this place called Lime Gelato afterwards, and then they didn't even have lime gelato. So disappointing. What are you doing, Hungary?

So we casually walked to the basilica. Fun fact: There's no building in Budapest that is allowed to be built taller than the Basilica. But Parliament is the same height in order to show the separation of church and state (thanks, Adam). The Basilica is unbelievable. We hung out in front of it and watched people on segways for a while.

Of course, then it was time for football. So we went to Hooters. My first Hooters trip ever, by the way. We drank expensive beer and watched football. They didn't have access to the Patriots game, though. Sad. Maybe next weekend.

So that was it. It was really fun because I was with people all the time, and nothing was actually planned. I only regret not bringing more sweaters with me.

Also found out I have an awesome chicken sandwich place that I can see from my window. So, I might be going there always.

Also, we had art on Friday and today in first grade. We did leaf rubbings on Friday, and painted tree trunks with our hands today. They didn't really get the whole "stay inside the lines thing." But it was super cute, nonetheless.

Szia!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



9th September 2013

When we stopped being on TV.....haha
10th September 2013

Beeeeerrr
So I was already like, "aw how fun" and then you mentioned a Chili beer and I just about lost my shit- so jealous! hs, sounds like you are having a great time so far!
15th September 2013

Continental habits
Welcome to Europe. It might not be relevant to your case here, but generally FYI. In traditional continental European service culture, waiters are not really supposed to offer you anything but you need to address them yourself (like people do not talk to a king but wait until king talks to them...). You should never be offered a bill by waiter, that is considered really insulting and bad (\"american\" :-)) service. You are supposed to be able to sit in restaurant for however long you want (i have been sitting 5-6 hours just having one cup of coffee...) without getting feeling that the waiter wants you to leave. Restaurants are traditionally extensions of your living room, not \"profit-only\" places where service personal is trained to get maximum out of clients in as short time as possible... :-) So what to you might seem cold and inattentive attitude to you in Hungary, Italy, Spain, France etc is considered good service here. Of course, bad service is bad service here as well.

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0468s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb