In the past few weeks...


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary » Central Hungary » Budapest » Buda
September 28th 2008
Published: September 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

SZIASZTOK! How'd you enjoy my last blog? I've gotten some good feed back, so I guess I should write some more! :D
But yeah, down to business... I just wanted to say that I'm sincerely sorry for not blogging about the past 5 weeks (WOW, crazy huh?)! I've kept you in the dark for far too long, and now I'm gonna make it up to you:
The plan is to write a blog for every week that I missed (so, for 5 weeks), PLUS this one (ahhh :/). So, I'm gonna have some late nights this week (not too good for an exchange student, haha).
But I'll start off with talking about what I usually do in a typical day in Hungary:
- Wake up between 6 and 6:15 (more like 6:20 :D)
- Rush out of bed and stumble into the toliet room (there's 2 seperate rooms: a small one for the toilet and a bigger one of the sink and shower)
- Wash hands
- Get dressed, and grab stuff for school (basically: Hungarian work book and dictionary)
- Still half asleep, so stumble down to have breakfast
- Have cereal (Smacks :D), sometimes I have bread with ham, cucumber and cheese, and drink tea (tayaht, that's how you pronounce it)
- Then prepare my snack to eat in school (usually the bread, called gemle, with uborka (cucumber), ham, and cheese (sajt)), and a bottle of teat in a Gatorade bottle 😊
- Run upstairs to the bathroom: Brush teeth, wash face (if time)
- Run to room to make sure I didn't forget anything (usually my phone :D)
- Run back downstairs and check self in mirror (I see my self getting a bit bigger everyday :/)
- Out of the house through the garage
- Open the gate so the car can get out
- Jump in the car (and about that time it's 6:45 or 6:50)
That's before school (iskola)... and during the car (autó) ride, which is about 30 to 45 minutes (perc =minute) everyday (nap = day), I look at the autók (plural cars) and people (emberek) and think about you guys and life in general... then we (my host dad, Laci, my host sister, Kriszti, and I drive together everyday to school) get to Kriszti's school and drop her off (it's some German school where they learn all of their classes in german, except like Biology and some other class). And then a 10 minute drive through traffic to my school, where he drops me off near Erzsi (my host mom)'s work (she's a meterologist), and I walk a 5 (öt) perc walk to school from there.
Iskola: it's pretty much sitting and listening to a language I don't understand, but I have people in my class who speak english to me and help me with my hungarian, which is good... or I write letters to you all (you're gonna get some soon), or journal, or practice hungarian in my hungarian book 😊
After school I usually meet up with some friends to have teat or shop in the mall, called Mammut (Mammoth; I'm gonna post pictures of it soon... it's a pretty cool mall about öt perc walking distance from my school), and I dont have to be home until around 6 or 6:30 in the evening.
I take the tram and bus (busz) home (ház), it's about an hour (egy óra) and 15 (tizenöt) minutes to get home from Budapest (I live outside of Budapest in a small town called Nagykovácsi... maybe I told you that before... I don't know :/).
Then dinner and watch a show with my family (a soapie, which I don't remember the name at the moment), and after dinner I usually go online to check my mail, or blog, or skype with my mom, dad, and MAYBE, SOMEDAY with Claire (I still haven't talked to her, live, or in the moment).
After computer time (it's about 10:30), I get ready for bed with changing into pjs, brushing hair and teeth, and then reading 3 or 4 chapters out my book (given to me from Allie Lenaburg for my birthday) called "The Red Scarf", it's pretty good, I recommend it (I'll tell you about it in one of my blogs, after I finish this series :/).
Then it's 11:30pm and I go to bed 😊
On weekends... it's a different story! I'll tell you about it in another blog as well as the book thing, and I want to talk more about my music (zene) life here 😊
SOOO, that's a typical day in the oh so very normal life of Jordan Macosko (in Hungary!)
Kösönöm szepen (thank you very much) for reading my journal!
Jó ejszakat! (good night)
And update you soon! (tomorrow with: My First Week away from Home)
I love you (szeretlek)!



Advertisement



29th September 2008

Wow, so much of that sounds really familiar. Mostly the sitting in class listening to a language you don't understand...but it sounds like the Hungarian isn't coming along too badly!
4th October 2008

comments
I will try to make a point of following your blog. It all sounds very familiar trying to pick out familiar words in a sea of gibberish. Kind of like listening to claire when she is mumbling. Remember have fun!! Dave

Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0353s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb