Volcano hiking in Santorini


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece
October 2nd 2011
Published: June 22nd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 36.4044, 25.3959

The following morning the ship moored off Santorini and I went on a hike up the volcano whilst the others went into town. At the top of the volcano there was heat and some smoke coming out but no lava as it is not very active at the moment. I was glad I had worn my hiking boots and taken a walking stick. Most of the others were in trainers and ended up with shoes full of stones. I had made that mistake on a previous trip up Mount Etna. Unfortunately I had forgotten to take my swimming gear as part of the trip was a swim from the small sailing boat which had taken us over to the volcano. And as it was very hot that would have been good.

As it was last night aboard there was a band playing and champagne and caviar on deck followed by a comedy show. It has been a great cruise but we havent really made much of the places we have stopped at.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0211s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb