Discovering Athens


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece
July 1st 2012
Published: September 13th 2012
Edit Blog Post

On Tuesday evening I arrived in Athens, exhausted from a sleepless night of travel but eager to discover the ancient city. I did not know what to expect, I had heard mixed reviews of Athens and many travellers had told me that they hadn’t even bothered to stop in this “dirty, poor metropolis”. Two backpackers had even told me that they had been mugged! To add to the matter, Greece was all over the news with the Euro crisis and the thought crossed my mind as to whether this was the best place for an independent, 20 year old, female backpacker to travel after all.



In saying this, the thought lasted no more than a spit second. I couldn't possibly travel to Greece and not see Athens! How could I skip an afternoon marvelling at the Parthenon or a walk though the Panathenaic Stadium? How could I ignore the Temple of Zeus or overlook the history contained within the modern walls of the Acropolis museum? It was impossible to wander around the city and not come across a ruin, wondering what it could have been and how the ancient Greeks would have spent time within its now broken walls. Thank goodness for the walking tour and the local guide who helped us, naive tourists, understand parts of the city's astounding ancient history.



There is more to Athens then ancient ruins however. What about taking a stroll along the pedestrian promenade? Or, you could spend and afternoon hunting down a bargain in the vibrant flee markets. Climbing Filopappos Hill is also a must do for the best views of the city; the sight was so extraordinary I made the journey twice! I was also pleasantly surprised by the natural beauty of the National Gardens where I spent my first evening relaxing and recuperating from a long day. During my stay I even took a tram ride to a private beach where a five Euro entry fee (yes fellow kiwis, you must pay!) was well worth the soft white sand, deckchair, bar and crystal blue water.



There were also many trendy shops and stylish, yet affordable restaurants. As a typical budgeting backpacker, I often find myself sticking to street food (which is also fantastic in Athens – oh the Gyro, how delicious!) but with good sized mains available for around 6 Euro in most restaurants it was a great chance to treat myself. I ate nothing but Greek cuisine – something that isn’t a common option back in Auckland, New Zealand – and made it my mission to try different foods every day. I couldn’t go past good moussaka or a real Greek salad though, winners every time.



I had a brilliant time in Athens, despite what other people had said. Yes, you will be approached by gypsies and yes you will hear about its economic issues on the news. Yes, Athens has its shortcomings, but then again what place doesn’t? Overall is a city in transition and since the 2004 Olympics it has been doing its best to evolve and urbanise. Personally I did not have any problems in the city and I never felt unsafe. I would definitely go back in the future and I will certainly recommend that others go and discover the remarkable history and culture that Athens offers. So if you are travelling nearby Greece don't skip Athens; take a stop, its worth it!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.201s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0539s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb