Mykonos


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece
September 4th 2023
Published: September 4th 2023
Edit Blog Post

The ferry arrived just before 11 on the 2nd. The place I booked had told me to take 2 buses to get to the nearest point, but I saw there was a boat bus, so stopped to see where it went. The ticket seller I could take it to Mykonos Town, and from there, make a short walk to the Fabrika bus stop, which was where I would have caught my 2nd bus.

I bought a boat bus ticket and waited for the next one, which was in about 20 min. On the boat, I chatted with a French couple, who were on their way to the airport (they had been in Paros, and then just to Mykonos for their flight out). The boat bus stopped at the old port, so I got to see it from the water, and then to Mykonos town.

Mykonos town has a maze of pathways between buildings- it would be easy to lose track of where you're going! Luckily I had trusty Google Maps to guide me through. I got to the bus stop and purchased my ticket. Again, Google maps was super helpful, as the bus driver didn't stop where I needed to get off, so when I saw we were passing it on the map, I asked him to let me off.

Studios Irini is up a very steep hill. It was a bit of a slog with my bag- happy I travel light, I'm planning to shed a few things over the next few days to travel even lighter. The view at the top is amazing- all the villas and pools dotting the hills, down to the water, where there are some fancy looking yachts. I settled in, by then it was around 1. Took a little rest, and then did a walk around, down to a restaurant for a late lunch/early dinner, and then to a grocery store to pick up some breakfast/snack items. Then I sat enjoying the view and read my book.

As it got closer to sunset, I decided I'd take a walk around to try to find a sunset spot (we're facing east). I tried out a few roads in the neighbourhood, found one that looked like it would be good, and just hung out waiting for the sun to go down. Incredible sunset! As it was setting, I walked a bit more, tried another road for another viewpoint, and then headed back to the hotel.

The next day, I was up early to catch the sunrise from our place. Then a bit later, I walked down to the nearest beach. It was ok- a small area was open to just put a towel, though most of the beach was beach beds/umbrellas. The wind had picked up even more from the day before, and sand kind of whipped into me, so I didn't stay all that long. Then I walked around to find a bakery, and sat there for a bit. I continued on towards the next beach, but it was wall to wall sunbeds. I really don't get the attraction of beaches set up like that!

I headed back up the super steep hill, and tried to find a place out of the wind on the hotel's patio, but that was pretty impossible! I had a little afternoon nap. I liked my lunch/dinner so much from the day before (mushrooms stuffed with onions, peppers and a cream sauce, with tons of cheese, so delicious!), so I went back to have the same thing 😊

Today, I went walking in another direction to another beach area, but it looked like more of the same, with wall to wall sunbeds, so I didn't bother to stop for a beach break, just did a walking loop. There looked like I could maybe take a short-cut on my way back by going through a resort. They had a gate, but it was up for a car, so I slipped through and no one commented (probably they didn't notice). Very swanky property- a helicopter pad, fancy villas with their own pools. I followed to where it looked like the resort paths ran sidelong of a public road, hoping for a secondary entrance to exit through. I didn't find any, but there was a low section of wall that I scampered over, and then got back on track with google maps on the other side 😊

I'll be heading for the airport shortly. I'm planning to walk, as if I want to bus, I'd need to bus back to Fabrika and then on to the airport, which would kind of be doubling back, so I figured I'd just take my time and have some rest stops. It's about a 50 min walk, it's just the bag that's the pain- we'll see how it goes, but I have plenty of time, as I don't fly out til late afternoon.


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0493s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb