Meteora, this place is simply gorgeous!


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Thessaly » Meteora
August 4th 2015
Published: September 5th 2015
Edit Blog Post

You have all seen the pictures, but how many of us can actually point exactly where is Meteora. Well, we are here right in the middle of Continental Greece....three hours driving from Thessaloniki, and few hours more from Athens. I was on my way from Delphi, trying to be in Kalampaka before sunset. I had just booked few days ago my hotel outside Kalampaka by going through Expedia and Tripadvisor comments. So I was on for the Meteora hotel. I just forgot to print an itinerary or address of my hotel that morning...well! I made it easily to Kalampaka, the main town bordering Meteora area. Interesting enough, for the last few kilometers, the landscape was simply boring...but where are those so wellknown monasteries?



Kalampaka is a tourist town clearing fully into the tourism industry. I stopped to ask my way and was directed to the Meteora hotel. As you can guest, well, they have more than one hotel with that name. I was asked...does the hotel has a swimming pool? No idea, I booked it on Expedia, smile! Well, it sound like I actually got a pretty good deal on a brand new 4 stars hotel. Well, except that the hotel is outside of town, so there is no more driving for me tonight even to go back to eat in town.



The views from my room, and from all the grounds of the hotel are simply breathtaking. I also landed in the pure...European packaged travel deal....French children all over the place....do really people spend a full week by the swimming pool here. Room was cosy...waiters were nice, but where is the Greek food on the menu. The waiter got a good laugh with me once we discussed the menu...and yes, they don't really do "table for one" around here.



I got a good night of sleep, an early wake up, as serious breakfast, and I was on to explore the Monasteries. The organization around Meteora is pretty well done. Each Monastery would close one day of the week, and for each Monastery, it would be a different day. So today, there is not going into the great Meteoro for me, that's it! Entrance to each Monastery is also 3 euros, but you spend nearly an hour in each of them, so that's not bad of a deal.



I spent all my morning and lunch time visiting Agios Stefanos, Agia Tria, Varlaam and Noussara Nunnery. Each one is different, each one offer amazing views, each one is stunning on his own! The trick here is simply to try to avoid the crowds of groups coming on bus trips. I found it to be pretty easy to do and was never bothered too long by these people....they are basically rushing through, so if you bump in a group, just sit and relax, and let it go. Here, it's mainly Russians and Americans that you will see in groups, the Frenchs, are clearly on the independent style travelers.



You'll see the picture, yes, this place is stunning! In many place, you just sit and try to take the place in, trying to imagine the centuries of history that surround you, simply! I never expected this place to be this impressive to be honest. You could even walk between monasteries, but for this, make sure you have enough water with you. I took an hitchhiker to the next village on the way back. A Brazilian who had taken a taxi on the way up (not cheap), and who walked between the monasteries...but his legs couldn't take it anymore on the way down.



I stopped some 50km away from Kalampaka for a nice lunch, nice terrace by the road, not many tourists around, and pretty nice souvlaki of lamb...told you, food is pretty amazing around here. I drove back to Thessaloniki, returned the rented car, and jump on a plane to Athens!



So Athens, coming soon....some 16 years later for me...


Additional photos below
Photos: 53, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



6th September 2015

Meteora's Monasteries
Fabulous photos, and I'm so glad you went there and loved it! So many people go to Greece and miss Meteora, which is my favorite place of all. It's so amazing that those monks and nuns built those stunning monasteries so high on those rocks without stairways! I spent three weeks there, climbing up to each monastery, on those amazing rocks, and following hiking trails. How great that you got to visit so many of the monasteries!
8th September 2015

Truly beautiful place
I was one of those American tourists but thankfully it was in early April and not crowded or rushed. I stayed at the same hotel in one of the corner rooms. I loved sitting on the little patio and just gazing at the amazing view. The pool was not open so no little kiddies running around. The food was a disappointment- too geared towards 'tourists'. I, too, was amazed at the monasteries and the ingenious architecture that created them. Most of them were destroyed in WW II but have been revived by groups of nuns. Enjoy Athens- if you get an opportunity dine at the new Acropolis Museum. It has stunning views and pretty good food an it is priced about the same as other restaurants in the area. I wrote a blog about Meteora in April under my blogger name' gunga'. Carolyn

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0434s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb