ginger kids


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Thessaly » Meteora
June 27th 2007
Published: June 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone.
So the heat wave continues. Yesterday we stoppeed working at 1:30 instead of 2:30 because the temperature was up to 45 in the shade. Yep it's brutally hot here. But we're all being careful, drinking lots, we have sun shades over our trenches and the sun screen is always out. Today we were working and again it was very hot, but not as hot. Probably only 39...

Anyways after karpouzie (watermelon break) Aleydis our boss came up to me and told me to go put on a shirt because I have such fair skin and red hair. aparently she's told all the red heads/ ginger kids to do that. (Surprisingly there are 6 of us here, we're taking over!) I was angry. I'm probably one of the few people who haven't had a heat rash, sun burn or heat stroke....as are most of the other gingers, but does that matter...nope I had to go put on a long sleeve shirt...I'm pretty sure that was worse because i just got hotter...ARGHHHH!!

anyways, I moved out of the olive grove today into adriens trench. we came down on a surface that was a mess of cobble stones, broken drinking goblets and other potter sherds and stuff, so we cleaned that up and then took it out. we think it may have just been a dump/ garbage because it is very close to the very large building at our site. We also found about 4 different types of animal bones in our trench. all ribs as well..interesting..b ut there was no indication of eating or cutting..so it's strange.

The sad thing was that the olive grove actaully produced alot of interesting thigs. There was a led object, not sure what it was, there was also a bronze piece and skull fragments. miss them all. but it was a good day. it's intersting bing out at the main site, so much more happens.

We were suppost to open up our first penguin today, but people were taking too long to do things like take pictures so that didn't happen. but we've been told that tomorrwo for sure. and we might even be able to do two at once because the are so close together.

that's pretty much all my news for now.

love you all lots



Advertisement



27th June 2007

Hot hot hot!
Hi Hillary, sounds like you are having a great time. It is very hot/humid here as well...not too bad if you aren't working and are just 'lollygagging' around Trout Lake. You mum and dad are coming out on Sunday for Canada Day celebrations... shoud be fun. Keep cool, we'll talk again soon. Geri
28th June 2007

Hey Hill
Hey Hill! I can't believe you had to put on a freak'n long sleeved shirt! That's rediculous! As long as you have some after-sun lotion, I say you're good to go! Lol, I thought your comment about "we're taking over" was really funny. Around here you don't see too many red heads...apparently they're all super smart (like you!) and want to become archeologists. Nothing super new with me. Derrick and I are still looking for a nice place to live for year (no more crappy student housing!). My sister is getting married in 1 month today...so I've been busy helping her get stuff done. Soccer has been going well, but I recently got injured (surprise...) but hopefully I'll be better soon. School is great but I'm going to be commuting to TO next week (for 2 months) so we'll see how that goes. Yup...it's apparent...my life officially sucks compared to yours in GREECE!! yeah!! Anywho, keep writing and having a great time and POST SOME PICTURES DAMMIT!!! I've never been to Greece so I'm living vicariously through you. I miss you! Steph

Tot: 0.211s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.04s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb