Volcanic Cliffs - awesome sunsets = SANTORINI


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » South Aegean » Santorini
July 17th 2006
Published: July 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

a perfect moment in OIAa perfect moment in OIAa perfect moment in OIA

the black and white really captures the beauty of this area
Mykonos to Santorini are a world apart. There really is no way even to compare the two besides that they are both are islands and that they are inhabited by greeks. I really liked mykonos....but in a very different way.

Santorini is more.....upper crusted I would say. The volcanic rock that these homes are upon is absolutely breath taking and very original to say the least. Long steep ascents and descents are the only way to get to the waters edge here. The water is MUCH calmer (thank god as the ferry ride over is a few hours....neither esther or I spewed so that was great)....You cannot flush your toilet paper down the toilets though...and I find that kinda GROSS. We stayed in the busy center.....a little dirty FIRA.....but it was close to stuff so that made things easy.

The first day we decided to invest in a SMART CAR to bomb around the island. It was much more civilized way to see things then a scooter....as it was much hotter and much larger then mykonos and I think we would have not seen nearly as much. We went up the steep climb to ancient thira...saw a light house....had
everyone enjoys the sunseteveryone enjoys the sunseteveryone enjoys the sunset

all the people that gather everynight in OIA to take in the amazing sunset
lunch and chilled on red beach. There is also black beach and white beach....literally the colour of the sand there. We then went off to the most stunning area of OIA. Now this was a place that our NOW PREGNANT friend Fiona told us we had to go....and it was superb. The stores were much nicer...the shots more artistic....check out the black and whites.......and finally a waiter was kind to us and actually gave us previously reserved seats to view the most incredibile sunset. It was nice to have some attention. To be honest I have found the greeks not all that nice....I think they just stick me in the american basket and are finished with me. Regardless, as you can see by the pictures many were all along the walls trying to get a glimpse at the coming sunset....really amazing....BUT WE HAD THE BEST SEATS!

Second day we went to see the volcano island and hot springs. Well first off the volcano island was pretty boring...got some brochure that explained the history and that one ,although dormant, gets active every 75 years....thank god not this year.....and then we walked around the big crater remnants of what were once
smart carsmart carsmart car

this is the cutest thing ever.....you are all car
lava filled volcanoes. You stick you hand in this one hole and feel a little warmth......thats it. Then we were off to the HOT SPRINGS MUD BATH.....well there was not much HOT about it....luke warm maybe.....and the mud was GROSS. But it was nice to have swim with about 150 other tourist that got suckered. Then we went up the steep ascent to get back to FIRA on the DONKEYS. Now this is a must do tourist thing.....makes a good shot....but their eyes were so sad (as esther observed)...there was no life in them and I did not see them being fed or given any water.....not happy. Where is the RSPCA when you need it.

I said goodbye to esther today....this being my birthday....not a great present.......and in usual rayner style I burst...literally...into tears. So we said good bye like one takes off a bandaid. QUICK AND PAINFUL. Esther held her cool...but I opted for the more dramatic tearful departure.....Friends for life.

shopped a little....relaxed and now I blog to celebrate my day...maybe I shall go to the roof top bar now and have myself a MYTHOS...beer....not bad.




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

The sad donkeysThe sad donkeys
The sad donkeys

All day they trudge up and down the steep stone steps....no water or food to be seen. Their veins are popping out of their ears and bellies as their bodies try and cool them off. Sad empty souls
Friends for lifeFriends for life
Friends for life

Esther is a dear friend ....it is not goodbye...it is just until next time!


18th July 2006

I got on!!
Hey Rayne, I made it! After trying I don't know how many times... It has been a wonderful journey to read all your entries - you have been having an amazing time. V jealous of you in the Nthn hemisphere summer... and of your tan! Keep having a great time. I bet the days are flying by now... I got your email this morning, and yes, we will definitely have lots to catch up on when you get back... Oh and I promise to take you snowboarding too... Ok - hope this gets posted.. woohoo - my first ever Blog experience! Ciao bella.. xx

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0409s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb