It's all Greek to me!


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » South Aegean » Santorini
June 21st 2007
Published: June 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

I've seen the sun rise on the Aegean islands, rolling up orange above the dry hills of Ios and brightening over Thira's whitewashed houses and long multicoloured shores. I've seen the white Acropolis lit up in the morning light, and I've watched the sun go down in violet and rose as the ship pulls out of Athens' harbour. I've eaten sweet honeyed backlava by the black beach at Perissa, and had my full share of tzatziki and feta cheese. I've discovered that if France has the best art and Italy the best food, Greece definitely has the most fascinating history - I can hardly devour enough of it, and I wish I'd read Homer and Plato 'til it came out my ears before I left home.

I've also been offered a drink in a park by a sketchy 30-something Afghani man, hyperventilated on the Athens metro, and discovered a cockroach in our room at Santorini (the first time I've ever been frightened by an insect - now I know how it feels to be a real girl). Greece is definitely a place of contrasts, from smoggy, sprawling Athens to the relaxing Greek isles.

Greece was intended to be our "vacation from vacation" spot, and while standing up from 12-4 in the morning on a train filled with smoke and military Greek men or sleeping on hard plastic benches on long ferry rides may not have been the most auspicious start, Santorini (a.k.a. Thira) has it all. It's not necessarily somewhere I want to leave... ever. Girls, think "Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants" - Costos should appear at any moment (unfortunately, the noisy donkeys are better behaved that most of the men here). Perissa, our home base, has a long black sand beach; today we rented bikes and went to the red sand beach. I hear tell there's also a white one - no discrimination here, folks.

Santorini is shaped like a crescent, inside of which is the low black volcano that erupted long ago in an explosion bigger than Mt. St. Helen's and Vesuvius combined, destroying the Minoan civilization on nearby Crete. It's dormant now, and the island explodes with tourists instead, who flock to the picturesque scenery. It may be touristy, but it's still relaxing; unlike in the big city, tourism here means they make everything easy for you, and sometimes that's really nice.

We also had a great visit in Thessaloniki, the second largest city in Greece, where we got to stay with a Greek family who taught (and fed) us all kinds of interesting things. Greek is the most difficult language so far, not the least because it has different letters. But in english I would write, adio, love from sunny, spectacular Santorini!

Advertisement



26th June 2007

oompa!
well Liz, as they say, you get around ;) I am so thrilled for you! for your experiences and adventures! I do wish I could be there with you but at the same time i can't complain about my present situation. I am on sunny anvil island with awesome friends, great food and a gorgeous view. I have been working a bit getting the canteen set up and I am about to start to paint the floor of the canteen which is hopefulyl easier than cleaning it was. We will also be setting up the water trampoline today which is no small feat. Nevertheless, I am content as a clam and I have no desire to be back in the city any time soon.... I look forward to seeing you when you meander back to this side of the world, but for now I will dream of your black beaches and bicycle cruises. love you and miss you, Laura. P.s. no greek boys for you!!! (the same advise you gave me applies to you missie!)

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.063s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb