Santorini Views Abound


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » South Aegean » Santorini » Fira
May 23rd 2013
Published: October 13th 2013
Edit Blog Post

My Hotel RoomMy Hotel RoomMy Hotel Room

at Acropole Sunrise - great place to stay!
I waited so long to visit Santorini. I always dreamed of going there on some romantic holiday, but I decided if I kept waiting for that, I'd probably never get there! So I decided to book a trip and just go see it for myself. This was one of the most beautiful places I've ever visited and one of the best holidays I've ever had - once I arrived. On the flight from Kuwait, some a**hole kicked the back of my seat for four hours, even after I made him aware of it. Twice. Was he a child who didn't know any better or wasn't aware of his actions, you ask? No! He was a full grown man who apparently didn't know any better and wasn't aware of his actions.

Once I arrived in Athens, I had just enough time to buy some lemoncello before going to my gate for my connection on Aegean Air. I arrived at the gate only to find out the flight was cancelled due to wind in Santorini. Kudos to Aegean Air for how they handled it. They booked every person on a flight the next day and even added an extra flight to accommodate
My BalconyMy BalconyMy Balcony

at Acropole Sunrise - check out the view
everyone. Then they booked us all into the Sofitel (swanky!) across the street from the airport. The hotel prepared a buffet dinner for us at the last minute because their dining room was already closed, and they prepared a buffet breakfast the next morning, both included with our hotel stay. Well done Aegean Air and Sofitel! Sofitel is not in my budget and is way more luxurious than the places I normally stay in.

The next day my flight was delayed for the same reason, but by 2:00pm I was in Santorini. I took a taxi to my hotel, (15 euros) Acropole Sunrise, which is on the hill above Kamari with a view of the town, the sea, and the mountains. I had a view of all three from my little terrace and I took full advantage of it every day with my lemoncello. For 25 euros a night, I was in heaven.

First I took a walk down to the black pebble beach and walked the entire length looking at the shops and cafes and restaurants. And the beach was stunning. I go hungry, so I stopped at a restaurant that was near empty and had a
Acropole Sunrise CourtyardAcropole Sunrise CourtyardAcropole Sunrise Courtyard

View from my balcony
great beach view. Almost all of them do. I ordered a beer and a Greek salad. Then another beer. The guy running the place, Nick, was really nice, friendly but not too friendly, and he gave me a shot of sambuka. I ordered another beer. He gave me another shot. And then another. And then a lovely dessert. Free. By the time I left, I was feeling pretty good. It was still daylight. I stopped at a bakery on the way back to my hotel and picked up a spinach pie and a stray dog. He was so cute. I gave him some of my pie and of course, he followed me. Back at my room, we enjoyed the rest of the goodies I got at the bakery and I finally opened my bottle of lemoncello. I went to bed at some point and apparently, so did my friend because he jumped in my bed at 5:00am and scared me to death! I didn't realize he was still in the room when I closed the terrace doors to go to bed. Oh well. I didn't mind.

The next day my buddy and I walked down to the beach before
View from my RoomView from my RoomView from my Room

at Acropole Sunrise
9:00am. I had a ripping headache, so stopped for a frappe, a cold Greek coffee with milk. It. Was. So. Good. I had many of these while in Greece. Probably two a day. I stayed at the beach for three hours. Gorgeous. Stunning. Cannot express the sheer joy of laying there with my book in the sun in perfect temperatures. The water was freezing, but the sun was perfect. My buddy found his friends and lost interest in me. Can't win 'em all. Didn't want to overdo it on my first day, so after three hours I went back to my hotel, showered, and took a nap. Afterwards I felt fully recovered from the previous night and caught the bus to Thira. Time to see some of these postcard scenes for real.

Kamari is on the southeast side of the island and that is where I stayed because I wanted easy access to the beach by walking. All the beaches are on the eastern side of Santorini because the western side is the caldera, a huge cliff created by a volcanic explosion. Thira is built on the edge of these cliffs and has amazing sunset views that people pay dearly for. Thira is stunning. I walked and walked and walked. I walked out of Thira to the next village, Imerovigli. Took so many pictures. Every few steps is another view worthy of a postcard. I had dinner at a restaurant called Pirouni and met a nice couple from Colorado. They let me try their dolmades. Outstanding. I had the traditional Greek sausage the couple recommended, even though I'm not a big fan of sausage, and it was outstanding. I couldn't finish it all, but I tried! Afterwards, I walked a while with this couple and watched the sunset. It was getting pretty chilly outside and I was freezing, but it was worth it. I have been disappointed by a number of sunsets and sunrises on my previous travels, but this one was worth all the fuss. I never envisioned myself watching it with a lovely couple from Colorado, but it was still beautiful. Just not romantic. Haha!

I suffered another three long hours on the beach the next day. Relaxing, reading, getting a tan. Terribly stressful. With that chore out of the way for today, what to do next? Oh yeah, lunch! I went to a little restaurant
View of the CountrysideView of the CountrysideView of the Countryside

from the covered terrace at my hotel
on the street but a bit away from the beach. It's in front of a hotel called Kamari Villas. I checked it out and I think I'll stay here next time as it is close to the beach. No views really, but only 20 euros a night and they do have a gorgeous courtyard. After a shower I caught the bus to Thira (all buses go to Thira, then to other parts of the island) and then the bus to Oia, another village famous for its views and postcard shots. It is the northernmost village on the island. Stunning views and totally worth a visit. Had a great dinner of meatballs with tomato sauce and yogurt with spearmint. Oia is pretty expensive for souvenirs, but I did buy a great pair of sandals I don't need. Back at my hotel I enjoyed some more lemoncello (as I did every night!) on the terrace and just thoroughly enjoyed myself after such a perfect day. Again.

The next day I wasn't feeling very motivated to do much besides go to the beach. Akrotiri ruins were closed today, so I took advantage of the beach once again. I was good and dark by now and after a few hours, I had a frappe and showered and took a walk around Kamari, which is not very exciting, I have to say. I ended up at the restaurant where I went the first night and Nick was there. His name is actually Nectarios. I ordered some food and a beer and pretty soon, the free shot of sambuka appeared. Then I ordered another beer. He delivered it with another shot of sambuka. Well, you know the story by now. Only on this night, I got four shots! And I noticed Nick gave EVERYONE a free shot! But he gave me four because he said I was 'nice, and not annoying like a lot of tourists' so I graciously accepted the free dessert again as well. On my walk back to my hotel, I was again feeling pretty good, which lead to me spending money on things I really did not need or anticipate buying, like a coral bracelet and yet another pair of sandals. Oh well. I've worn them both numerous times since returning to the real world, so I guess it was money well spent.

One more day remained in Santorini. No more nights. Boo. This trip was much too short.


Additional photos below
Photos: 126, Displayed: 27


Advertisement

Kamari BeachKamari Beach
Kamari Beach

Lovely black pebble beach


Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 12; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0468s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb