Mykonos, Greece


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » South Aegean » Mykonos
August 20th 2017
Published: September 20th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Santorini, Greece to Mykonos, Greece


I have heard Mykonos is so beautiful, and it has become one of the most desired destinations in the world. Although one of the smallest islands of the Cyclades complex, Mykonos is definitely the most famous, thanks to its treasure of natural beauty, rich history, cosmopolitan character combined with a wild nightlife, as well as plenty of local color. I had to see for myself. Also, according to mythology, Mykonos was formed from the petrified bodies of giants killed by Hercules. Legend has it that the island took its name from the grandson of Apollo, “Mykonos”. Take all of this with a grain of salt.

I travel to Mykonos on a ferry from Santorini. This is the first time I have ever taken a ferry, and there are no complaints. The ride was comfortable, and seemed to pass fairly quickly. I arrive at the port, and once the gate came down from the ferry, and I was on dry ground...what to do? I knew the hostel I was staying at said there would be buses there to take people to the hostel or beach area. I was staying at Paraga Beach, and when I walked to where the mass of buses were, I found a driver holding up a sign that had my hostel name on it. Relief is what I felt. When travelling, sometimes you do not know what to expect, and the unknown can be a little nerve wracking, as well as exciting. Anyway, I was very happy to see this particular driver. I board the bus, which was quite full of people that were going to the same place or area as me, and off we go. The ride to the hostel was very interesting, for the roads are very narrow, and there are hair pin turns that have to be made. Please keep in mind these are large buses. Needless to say, the drivers are very professional in what they do, and I was pretty amazed we did not hit another vehicle or a wall , telephone pole, etc. I make it to my hostel, and proceed to check in.

Now the hostel that I was staying was more of a younger patron hostel right on the beach. I chose for location, and I had to get a private room, for I exceeded the age limit for a shared dorm. I was perfectly fine with this, and come to find out, my room was a little two cot bungalow. Pretty sweet. The beauty is that I had no roommate for the entire stay, and was able to spread all of my things out. I had my own key, as well as a safe in there for my valuables, so I felt pretty secure.

I get cleaned up, and let me tell you the bathrooms here were pretty decent. Many showers and toilets, and I did not have to wait. Anyway, I proceed to the pool area, and although there were many lounge chairs there, most were taken. I did find one, and I proceed to lay out in the sun for a bit and people watch. I decide to stroll down to the beach and to get in the water. There was a dock with a long ramp, and I went down and dived off into the water. The water was a bit chilly at first, but I swam for a few minutes after getting used to it. I go back to my chair and lay out to dry off. I decide to stroll up and down the beach, so I walk to another beach area that is very near by. It was quite populated with patrons, and there was a large restaurant with bar area there. I continue walking just to see the area, and really take notice of the beautiful beaches. It was getting well into the afternoon, so I decide to go back and clean up and then relax for the rest of the evening.

I awoke the second day and was eaten up by mosquitos. I realized I should have sprayed repellant, and will have to remember for any future trips here. Oh well. Darn blood suckers. I decide to walk to Paradise Beach. I have heard of this beach, and I was anxious to see it. Unfortunately for me, I did not have any transportation other than my two feet, and of course it was extremely hot this day. I put on a good bit of sunscreen, and off I go on my adventure. Sometimes this can be the best, for I see many things I would have otherwise missed due to not having the time to just look around. What I did notice on my walk was that there was an excessive amount of trash on this part of the island. There were mostly bottles, but there were cans and other litter all over. My feeling is that there are just so many people, and trash is just discarded wherever. Anyway, I walk for a good piece and arrive at Paradise Beach. I noticed the beautiful shore line, and the water was just stunning. It was quite crowded on this day, however I found me a spot to put my towel down and proceeded to make my way to the water. I get in, and I notice that the footing is not on sand, but rocks. I had to be careful wading out in the water, but the thing is that you can wade out for quite a long way with the water not be over your head. Again, very beautiful and crystal blue water. I swam for a bit all the while loving life and thankful to be here. I go back to dry off and proceeded to walk around the beach. I find a path up an incline that overlooks the beach, and when I went up there I got some pretty decent photos. I was glad to be here at this particular point in time.

Time rocked on, and after several hours of relaxing and also eating a mid afternoon meal, I started pondering my journey back. Knowing that I did have a pretty long walk back, I take off towards my hostel. The trip to Paradise Beach had quite a lot of down hill, so I knew I would have to walk back up. Uggh. I start the walk, and about three fourths of the way back, I was picked up by a bus. As mentioned previously, the roads are very narrow, and they have to be shared with cars, buses, motorcycles, ATV's, bicycles, and walkers like me. I try to be cautious, and I get on the side of the road when a motorized vehicle is coming. I did not hitch hike, but was standing on the side of the road when this large bus came by. It stopped, and the driver proceeded to ask me to board. Not to turn down a free ride (I felt it was safe, for this was a bus like I took on the first day on the island), I board. Ahhh, air condition. It really did feel good. Back to the hostel area is where I am taken.

There was still plenty of day left, so I walk to another beach close by and check out the landscape and surroundings. Most of the folks I saw were just laying around the beach area. Must have been a long night of partying for many, or they could be like me, and just want to relax and do nothing but sit by the water. Either way, not a bad place to be on this beautiful day. After seeing what I could see, I head back to my hostel area and find me a chair by the pool. I chill here for quite some time and watch the sun go down. Beautiful. At this moment in time, I was content and happy to be where I was at.

Time was too short, and time to pack up and get ready to head to my next destination. I suppose that I should have rented an ATV or took some other form of transportation where I could have seen more of the island and the surrounding towns, but at the moment, I was quite content. One more day and I could have possibly saw the beautiful windmills and churches that I have saw the pictures of, but for me, I chose to enjoy the beach instead of seeing more of the beautiful landscapes of the island. That is the choice I have to make from time to time when staying for such a short time. Although I just stayed two days, my experience was very good. If ever given the chance to come back, I will most likely stay for a longer period of time to assure I can take in as much of the island as I can. I am certain I missed a lot, however what I did see was priceless, and stored in my memory vault. This is a beautiful place, and I recommend coming here if ever in Greece.


Additional photos below
Photos: 61, Displayed: 28


Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0316s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb