Mykonos baby!!!!


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » South Aegean » Mykonos
August 28th 2011
Published: January 8th 2012
Edit Blog Post

The next morning waiting at the ferry at 7am and everyone was pumped, Mykonos baby!!!! The mood was electric. It was a 6 hour ferry ride but no sleeping for me, I was too wired. So we messed around, I smashed everyone in a game of ‘asshole’, met some gorgeous girls who will be touring with us for the next few days, and just lapped up being on the water.

When we landed it was awesome. Mykonos, in the Greek Islands, is actually more spread out that I expected, with these cute little white cubical houses dotted across the landscape with these little rock walls showing property boundaries. This is the Greece I expected, well sort of, it’s a lot drier that I thought, which gives the place a bit of a Middle Eastern feel. The city is also really cute, built like a labyrinth to confuse would-be pirates trying to invade the city, it’s so easy to get lost. The resort was amazing, by the beach, with a pool, bar, cocktails, words just can’t describe it.

We went out into town the first night on a bit of a pub crawl, and as I turned 27 at midnight, the hugs and shots kept coming and I got so trashed. I lost my voice completely so I ended up walking around with a pen and paper having written conversations with people. I had pages of conversation, even one saying “Don’t write so big you’re taking up too much paper” ha ha ha it was a good night, and I ended up meeting a really nice Canadian girl named Jess. Got on the bus to head home and everyone was singing ‘Happy Birthday’ and gave me all their glow sticks, I got home wearing dozens of the things. Awesome night!

The next morning was birthday beers for breakfast, and after 6 or 7, I as on my way so a nap was definitely in order before Paradise Beach that afternoon. 3 o’clock in the afternoon, and this place is pumping, everything you would expect a day club on an exotic beach to be; pumping music, everyone walking around half naked, dancing on every surface available (including the bar). With a cocktail in hand, looking out over the beautiful blue ocean, I thought to myself, ‘it’s a hell of a place to turn 27’ :-) . My voice had barely returned and talking wasn’t very efficient. I started getting called ‘The Godfather’ as that’s who I sounded like. Tom did a great video journal that day with Alex and myself giving the rap-up, funny as hell. So we left there at 9:30 that night and went back for a few more drinks at the resort.

The next night was the Toga party. Everyone loves a good Toga night :-). I had half a mind to ditch the Toga party and head into town for fear of more Contiki cheese, or at least leave early but it didn’t really eventuate. And with really big pours and 2 for 1 drinks, drunkenness was swift and there were a few messy scenes, by everyone. Ah well, that’s Mykonos :-). So I ended up down the beach with Jess, and we made a bet with Jess that night that if Australia wins more medals than Canada in the 2012 Olympics she’ll fly to my home in Townsville, and if Canada wins more, I fly to Canada, so I guess we’ll see how that one pans out. But it was a pretty wild, yet awesome night all round.

So the next morning was the ferry ride back to the mainland and wow!! It was a jet boat that does like 100 clicks across water and it was one of the wildest seas I have ever seen, people were getting off the ferry white as ghosts saying things like “seriously guys, don’t go” ha ha ha. The boat smelled of vomit and the bins were full of spew bags ha ha ha. Nad things didn’t change much on our trip with one in 5 people making use of the numerous bags being handed out ha ha ha, it was so funny, yet kinda gross.

Ok back to keywords, so the keywords for Mykonos:

“Where’s my goose??”

Whipping it out all over Mykonos

Alex bribing a gypsy woman

No naps on Mykonos!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1015s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb