Athens, Mykonos and the rest of my trip


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » South Aegean » Mykonos
September 9th 2005
Published: September 9th 2005
Edit Blog Post

So After a terrible bus ride from Corfu to Athens which consisted of 2 ferries and one extremely crazy bus driver, (ie passing cars on really curvy moutain roads) I finally got to Athens. I had been told to get out of Athens as soon as possible but I thought that it was pretty cool. Hung out with some pretty cool Aussies and checked out the acropolis. I thought that it was pretty neat except I thought that I was going to be able to walk around inside the actual parthenon but since they are doing work on it ( and have been since 2000) you can't. All and all I was really impressed with the size and in general how good it looked. After that checked out some more of the sights around Athens, namely the Olympic stadium and of course more ruins. Left for Mykonos the next day at 530am on the ferry. The ferries that I have been riding on have gotten nicer and nicer as my trip goes on. Got into Mykonos and found my way to Paradise beach camping. For those who don't know, Paradise beach is a nude beach. I would have to say that I saw a lot of extremely fit girls there. Then when it get to be around 5 everyone starts drinking and the party starts and goes on until about 11 or midnight I think. Checked out the town and had dinner there, the town is super confusing, I got lost a few times looking for the bus station. They have these giant white pelicans that just walk around in the street and no one really gives them a bother. I thought that it was kinda funny when I saw a guy pleading with one to leave his customers alone at a resturant. So I had a good time in Mykonos, waiting for my ferry to Ios, which will contain more of the same, beach and camping... and possibly a little drinking. The rest of my trip is as follows so far... I have to be in Istanbul by the 19th for a flight to Germany where I will be attending Octoberfest for 2 days, From there I am going to visit my friend Stephanie in Switzerland for a few days before heading to Spain. Thats the trip but it could change. Try to send photos from Greece when I get to Ios. Miss you guys, but not as much as you miss me. ha ha


Mike

Advertisement



Tot: 0.256s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0632s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb