On the ferry


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Epirus » Igoumenitsa
June 12th 2008
Published: June 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Location is inaccurate we are somewhere in the Adriatic. On a ferry.

Now on a ferry from Ancona to Patras. I'll leave Hilary to comment on some bits like getting on-line and general ferry stuff. Getting the tickets was, as expected, no problem. The ferry eventually arrived, but as said this is for Hilary to comment upon.

I did not get to do much riding the Harley today, from the hotel to the ferry terminal. Then onto the ferry. It was raining a bit, the steel ferry ramps were slippery, then they wanted me to take the Harley up to the upper deck. Scary stuff. All sorted though not exactly a fun experience.

Over to Hilary

I find it a lot easier to do nothing on the ferry because there is manifestly nothing to do. I am, it seems bad at doing nothing. Anyway, as Ashley said, the ticket office opened this morning and we got booked and checked in without problems. Then we got the bike down to the ferry port and waited for several hours. When the ferry came we watched trucks loading on and off with remarkable skill. We got on board and found our cabin and got some food. The salads in the self service restaurant are good. I can't buy a book as they are all in Greek - well, I could buy one but I wouldn't understand it. We have a wireless connection on board, hence multiple uploads. Although the connection is frustratingly slow. T the extent that we have used more than half our 90 minutes (that's the most you can buy at once).

Our cabin seems comfortable. It has air conditioning and a shower. I think we shall find somewhere to do laundry in Greece.

One odd thing - Ashley just reminded me - people are smoking indoors on the ferry. For the first time I can remember I deliberately chose to sit in a no smoking area. The smoke does not bother me but I don't need an ashtray or anything. Which is odd.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.194s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 20; qc: 57; dbt: 0.1335s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb