HOME


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Crete
April 2nd 2013
Published: April 2nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

As a traveller (and pirate, of course!) I soon came to realize that the best place to write for is your own. Naturally, you know better the land that nurtured you, the culture that defined you, landscapes and scents you feel connected to.

Since I was very young I sailed to discover the world leaving my base for a long time. I came back to Crete where I grew up to 'reinforce' my base and from there I kept traveling, whenever possible. The years I spent on the island revealed to me hidden places I never imagined they existed on such a small piece of land and I discovered the endless possibilites of an isolated 'continent' surrounded by sea.

Minoans, Byzantines, Saracen Arabs, Venetians, Ottomans, Greeks and many others called this place 'home' throughout the centuries, leaving great cultural treasures behind. The island is also home to a variety of landscapes and climates: Majestic mountains rule the mainland, fertile valleys, lakes and rivers that spill into the Libyan Sea and the pristine shores of the south.

There, at the beaches of the 'Cretan southern wild' I find my peace of mind. And from there I plan my next steps in life and my travels in the rest of the island, Greece and the world.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.041s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb