Clubbing convert?


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Crete » Malia
June 28th 2012
Published: June 28th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Clockwise from top left:Clockwise from top left:Clockwise from top left:

Customised T-shirts; Dancing on the bar; Pool Party; Booze Cruise
18 you're starting university, getting a job...going out into the real world. Or also, going out and legally getting wasted.

Staggering around in your tiny dress and heels in the UK climate...

Malia was not a destination of choice. I like to see things, explore cities, and go sightseeing. My idea of getting drunk, and being hung-over for the day was not an idea of exploration, let alone a relaxing holiday. I did this on a weekly basis in university anyway. I didn't need to pay 400 pound for a flight and hotel with what I can do for almost free. But I went along, after all, I wanted to do one of these 'girly holidays'. I got the biggest shock of my life when, not only did I bear it, I enjoyed it. Being greeted by the holiday reps to making new friends...the activities such as the booze cruise and the pool parties, although promote getting drunk, were enjoyable anyway. Watching the sunset on a beautiful boat, with a sex on the beach cocktail in hand, listening to great music and laughter was a great adventure. On the booze cruise (prices range from 40-60 Euros or you can get a package deal) you could also jump in the sea, enjoy a BBQ on the beach and have a meal included. The same goes for the deck party, where you enjoyed an inclusive meal and excellent drinks offers. If you're not one for going with the crowd and paying for extra special nights out, the strip is less than half a mile long, packed with all the hustle and bustle of a single street full of dance music pounding clubs, with the temperature a delicious 30 degrees and everyone walking round in comfortable sandals... Not your typical feet in agony in the middle of the night out dread.



I came home sporting, albeit a dreadful uneven tan, but a different opinion on the type of holiday that used to make me cringe at the airport and make me feel like a different class from the clubbing holiday goers; the matching girl band style 'I heart Malia' t-shirts with the echoing cries

“Malia with the girls!”





with their beaming smiles for their flashing cameras as though a celebrity has been spotted at the airport, or the beer louted football-esque shirts with vile, inappropriate (for public display) nicknames spread on the back of t-shirts.





A surprisingly great adventurous holiday that fortunately, I will always remember when I compare a comfortable warm sandal wearing night out in Malia, to a staggering, wet and cold night out in England.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0501s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb