Mainland Greece and Crete Here I Come


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Crete » Heraklion
March 1st 2008
Published: March 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

it's March 1st!! How time has flown by!! Internet access in the outer lands of Greece was not great, but now I'm on Crete and it is wonderful to be in contact with the world once again.

Since last writing from Meteora, there has been much to see and do. A brief run down would include staying at Meteora, Areopoli, Olympia, Delphi, Tolo, and now Iraklion (Heraklion).

The places I've seen and things I've done are many.
The Grand Meteora, Osias Lukas (monastery), bought and drank some wine made by monks, ruins of the oracle at Delphi, climbed a mountain at Delphi and overlooked the sea to the Peloponnese (it was 2.7 miles one way), went to Olympia and say the Olympic stadium and where they would run and have other competition, stepped into and played in the Mediterranean Sea, saw an octopus in the sea, hiked to the edge of a cliff in a small town and climbed to the top of a church to enjoy the view, watched the sunset over the sea in Areopoli, drove through Sparta, climbed to the top of the keep at Mystras castle, climbed over 1000 steps to the top of a castle in Naphlio that same day, ate Fig ice cream, went for a run at sunrise along the coast, performed in the theater at Epidavros, visited the palace of Agamemnon at Mycenea, walked through the Lions gates, went to Corinth and climbed to the top of the Acrocorinth where I could bee the Gulf of Corinth and the Mediterranean at the same time, went to the Temple of Poseidon, took a 10 hour over night ferry ride to Crete, went Knossos (Minoan palace) where the Minotaur would have been, walked around Iraklion, went to Gontyna, Phaestos, and to the beach at Matala.

I have been getting some good color and freckles are showing on my face. The food I have been eating is amazing, this hotel that we are staying at now has great meals, especially breakfast.

I'll be posting a sample of my journal that I have been keeping of how a normal day usually goes in in my life.


Additional photos below
Photos: 44, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0734s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb