Piskopiano Crete


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Crete » Elounta
August 28th 2010
Published: August 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

We've arrived!!!! Our first few days are to be spent in a little village, Piskopiano, high up on the hill. We breakfasted on yoghurt and honey, ham and cheese while taking in the fabulous views over the towns below to the Sea of Crete. Our balcony is shrouded in bourgainvilea and we hear the sounds of cicadas and locals riding mopeds up the steep hills.
Ok, so, this blog is not going to be boring, describing food, and accomodation... I just wanted to set the scene and get in the zone.
The first couple of days we have spent just walking from village to village taking in the local shops and atmostphere.... we wandered down to Hersonissus, the town that the guide book had advised us to "avoid the fish, chip and chlamidia area of the north coast". Not that we saw any, the first two would have been home from home.... and the last, well, I wouldnt know about, thankfully!!!!
John and I had several discussions while packing our rucksacks, about what we considered neccessary to pack. He tossed out several things that I thought essential, but since we had jurisdiction over our own bags, I figured that was up to him. I got my first chuckle when out walking in the hot sun, he wished he had put some sun cream on the bald patch of his head. I was enjoying the fact that I was wearing what I had considered a fantastic find in TK Max, and he had poo pooed as rubbish..... a plastic bracelet filled with sun tan cream, thus doing away with he need to carry a heavy bottle round all day. I shared, after a few moments of poking fun...... neither could he quite grasp the importance of my exfoliation gloves that I called from the shower for him to pass to me..... but having married a man all those years ago, who didnt see the need to have any curtains or blinds up at his windows, because it was a first floor flat and so no one would see in..... why would I ever expect him to understand my need for the gloves.
So, having decided that our next couple of days of exploration would be up in the mountains, around the caves of Dikte, reputedly the birth place of Zeus, where his mother had hidden him from his flesh gobbling father, we then found that there is no local transport to inland Crete. Pondering over whether to take a taxi, or hitch a ride, we decided the easiest option would be to hire a car. So, one is being delivered to our lodgings tonight, ready for our journey up to the Lasithi Plateau tomorrow morning.


Advertisement



28th August 2010

Hello!
Sounds like you are off to a good start, and the scenery looks great. The' B' flowers on your balcony are so beautiful! Love them. Take Care, Susan
30th August 2010

Beautiful
Hi Susan, yes it is beautiful, the flowers are all in bloom and everything is so clean and white.... and of course the sun feels wonderful.

Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.026s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.053s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb