My Greek Odyssey - Athens


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
August 16th 2006
Published: September 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

AthenaAthenaAthena

"Goddess Athena, the wisest demeanour, shines like a beacon from above"
Well, my Greek odyssey may have only been for 9 days (not nearly enough), and not 20 years, but I did manage to get my fill of Greek mythology and Greek food! I saw what I consider to be the 3 big ones - The Acropolis, Delphi (centre of the universe) and Mt Olympus (seat of the Gods). See blogs parts 2 and 3 for stories of the latter 2 visits.

Athens - what can I say? The world's ugliest city? Can't say I have ever seen such a messy sprawl of concrete that never seems to end. It is not dirty and it is not nasty, just plain ugly. On the positive side, it has a very clean and efficient metro train system, and, of course, the Acropolis. What a fantastic place!

I got to visit the Acropolis with Steve Gillett, one of my work colleagues from DHS in Melbourne. I was meant to meet up with Steve and this wife, Susan, on Sunday night. Of course, I was delayed by a day, and Steve was delayed by 2 days, leaving Susan in Athens by herself for a day. Transport delays are not good for holiday fun. Steve,
The AcropolisThe AcropolisThe Acropolis

Pity about the plaster friezes - still, I did see the real thing in London!
Susan and I also visited a few other ancient sites and had a few good meals in an area of the city where the locals, and not the toursists, dine. Better food, and nearly half the price! More importantly, it was great to meet up with some familiar faces.

Speaking of which, I also dined there with Mark and Wendy before saying goodbye and heading north to Mt Olympus.

Loved the Archeological Musuem - so many great artefacts from over 3000 years ago and some many great sculptures. The longest visit to a museum I believe I have ever had!

I also enjoyed seeing the statues of Athena and Apollo outside the Academy. My favorite Goddess and God, respectively.

So, on the death night anniversary of the King, it is now time to say "Goodbye Europe". Dubai, here I come.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

The CaryatidsThe Caryatids
The Caryatids

More plaster at the Acropolis, I'm afraid to say!
AthensAthens
Athens

The concrete sprawl
Athens Cow paradeAthens Cow parade
Athens Cow parade

My third European cow parade! I really don't understandthe fascination!
Favorite restaurantFavorite restaurant
Favorite restaurant

Steve and Susan outside the cute Greek restaurant of choice.
Emperor Augustus Emperor Augustus
Emperor Augustus

Bronze statue (Archeological Museum)
Aphrodite, Eros and PanAphrodite, Eros and Pan
Aphrodite, Eros and Pan

Great sculpture! (Archeological Museum)


10th September 2006

Disgraceful
Is it true that Aphrodite was the Greek goddess of skank?

Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0746s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb