Visits and exam


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
November 30th 2011
Published: November 30th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Tuesday (08-11-’11)




First day back in Athens after travelling for a week. Classes aren’t too difficult so most of them, I could still follow😊
In the evening we had dinner at Elies’ place, she made pasta with soup vegetables. It was very delicious but I was smart enough not to eat too much because Margaux (Elies’ roommate) also made desert! They had icecream, chocolate and brownies, so yes we had a very good dinner!

Wednesday (09-11-’11)




Another day of classes.
In the evening I skyped for the first time with Chloé, it was nice to finally catch up! I also skyped with Didier and my mom😊

Thursday (10-11-’11)




Yep, another day of classes. But also Tanais’ birthday! I made her breakfast and me and Miriam got her a present from Stradivarius, one of her favourite stores😉
In the evening we had a party at our place, we had a lot of fun! The apartment was pretty dirty afterwards but it was worth it!


Friday (11-11-’11)




In the morning I had quite the hangover but I still cleaned the apartment two times😊
In the afternoon my parents arrived in Athens, I was so glad to see them! Too bad the weather decided to make it the coldest weekend yet here…
In the evening we went for dinner to Kifisia, an very nice neighborhood outside the center of Greece.

Saturday (12-11-’11)




In the morning I went to breakfast at my parents’ hotel. It was nice to have a big breakfast without having to prepare any of it myself😊
Afterwards we went to the market to buy some vegetables, meat and fish because my mom wanted to make some soup the next day.
We visited the Acropolis museum and went to look at the “fancy” stores near Syntagma throughout the day and walked down Ermou street.
In the evening, we went to the Olympic site only to find out that it isn’t beautifully lit up at night so there wasn’t much to see.
At first, we wanted to go to Piraeus for dinner as we did last time but we were all pretty tired from walking a lot so we decided to stay in the hotel. We first had some cocktails and sushi at the bar and afterward dinner in the restaurant.

Sunday (13-11-’11)




In the morning, I made soup with my mom which is very delicious! Especially with the cold weather in Athens now it’s nice to have some soup once in a while😊
We had lunch in the hotel and then we had to say goodbye, it was hard on me because I know I probably won’t see them again until Christmas but I know it will be there before I know it😊

Wednesday (16-11-’11)




I had classes in the morning and then I came home and started writing for this blog as I hadn’t in a long time.
In the evening we had dinner at Helene’s place, she made an oven dish with chicken, paprika, apple, tomatoes and puree. She told us she couldn’t cook well but this was definitely delicious! The empty dish was proof of that😉

Thursday (17-11-’11)




I had a case study I had to finish so of course, I watched series the whole day. At the end of the day I felt bad so went out to eat mcdonalds and promised myself I would work hard the next day.

Friday (18-11-’11)




Aaah discipline where are you? Of course I had the smart idea to start watching prison break all over again. In the evening everybody was going out, I felt bad so I didn’t go with them. Instead I worked, and finished my case study at 3 o’clock (yes, night-time).

Saturday, Sunday, Monday (21-11-’11)




I had an exam on Tuesday which I had to study for this weekend. The damage: one and a half season of prison break. Eventually I did learn everything I had to know, it was up to the next day to see if I didn’t learn it to superficial.

Tuesday (22-11-’11)




Exam day! The exam had 3 questions of which we had to choose 2 to solve. The questions were pretty literal of what we had seen in class. I didn’t study hard enough to know the exact answers but I hope I’m going to pass this exam. ( i know now i have 7/10 😉 )
I had another course after the exam, this was not pleasant to say the least!
Afterwards we had dinner at the university and I went back to my apartment to catch up on some sleep. In the evening I skyped with Didier.

Wednesday (23-11-’11)




In the morning, I had classes and in the afternoon I went to the library for the first time! I realize I have to start studying now…
In the evening I skyped with Anouk for the first time! It was so much fun to see her again and to catch up on each other’s lives:p

Thursday (24-11-’11)




I had some classes, one of which we earned an extra credit for making an exercise in class. Phiew, I was so glad I decided to go because this normally is a pretty boring class. Now that I’ve printed all the slides it’s easier to follow.
In the evening there was a preparty at Sporgilou, they told us we had to leave before 12 o’clock because the neighbours were going to be mad and call the police otherwise. Esn was organizing a karaoke night so we went their afterwards. We had a lot of fun despite the fact that there weren’t a lot of people.

Friday (25-11-’11)




Ieieieieieieie!!! The day my sister was arriving in Athens, I hadn’t seen her since September so you can imagine how excited I was! My mom decided to come again too, which of course I liked too, she even booked a hotel room for 3 persons so I could sleep with them and wouldn’t have to go back to my apartment in the evening😊
My sister arrived first so we already went to the hotel to check-in an so she could freshen up (that means me piling a ton of makeup on her face:p). We got an upgrade to a family room so it was a very nice, big room for the three of us😊
After mom arrived as well, we did some window shopping first, and some damage at zara. Aaah I miss shopping with my mom and sister!
In the evening we had dinner at the hotel and I went for a little walk with my mom.

Saturday (26-11-’11)




We had breakfast at the hotel and afterwards walked through Ermou street to the Acropolis. My sister and I went up to the Parthenon and walked around for a bit. We also went to the jewellery museum, if you find jewellery interesting it’s worth it but it’s not a very big museum.
In the afternoon we wanted to take the little train that drives around Athens, but instead we took the wrong one who just went around the Acropolis, woops:p
We had lunch at a very cosy café in Plaka and Mieke tried mousaka (and she liked it).
We wanted to go to Kolonaki to walk around the neighbourhood there but before we could get to the metro, a H&M popped up in front of us and we bought some stuff there. We did go to Kolonaki afterwards, too bad (but also a good thing) the stores were already closed their but it was nice to walk around and do some window shopping, we also had a drink in a nice bar.
In the evening we had dinner at Piraeus in the same restaurant we went to with my dad, Didier and Pieter. The fish was very nice but the desserts were incredible! The perfect soufflé and millefeuille to end our meal!

Sunday (27-11-’11)




We ate breakfast in the hotel again and went to look at the change of guards at Syntagma. On Sunday at 10.30 there is a big ceremony instead of the usual change of guards every hour. It was more impressive to see then I expected. Although they have ridiculous outfits on, you can see that they feel very proud about their job. You could also see that some Greek men got really emotional seeing the ceremony. On a more fun note, there is this dog that is always wandering around at Syntagma square. He is always walking in between cars (I saw him got hit by a car 2 times now) and just laying relaxed on the busy streets. Well, during this ceremony, he came running towards the parliament when it started and then started walking very relaxed in front of the guards as if he was part of the ceremony:p
Afterwards, I took my sister to visit my apartment because she hadn’t seen it before and we got some starbucks on our way back.
In the afternoon me, Mieke and mom walked through the flea market and visited the Agora. We didn’t have a lot of time left so weren’t able to see the whole site but it was pretty cool to see, I have to go back to visit it properly.
Then, the dreadful moment had come again, time to say goodbye 😞 I went with my mom and sister to the airport and we ate lunch there. I bought a book to read on my way back, The lost symbol by Dan Brown. I’m really going to miss them, but Christmas is around the corner so we’ll see each other soon😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0468s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb