Acropolis climb


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
May 10th 2006
Published: May 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

It didn't happen yesterday, for which I am grateful, but today there is a public transit strike. No worries though, Leslie and I had plans to be tourists so we just walked all over town, all the way to the Acropolis. You can just imagine how it would have been minus all the city buildings, coming upon this huge creation at the top of a hill you can see for miles. I can see it right now from Leslie's place, and it's all lit up at night which is wonderful. There's been some deterioration of the structures because of the pollution, and most of the ancient buildings are surrounded by scaffolding, which is too bad because it totally ruins the look. Metal and ancient stones just should not mix, but otherwise it might fall down, and that would be a real shame. From up on the hill you get a great view of the city, so we took lots of photos, some peekaboo shots from between the columns.

Leslie and I walked down to the Ancient Agora area, lots of trees and old stones, so you can see how it used to be this extensive market place and the centre
LeslieLeslieLeslie

On our touristy day Leslie and I walked everywhere, metro be damned!
of the city. All the roads led to it, once; which was kind of a big deal back in the day. Afterwards we cursed the metro strike and wandered around, then I went off on my own to do some exploring and look at all the touristy junk. I really want something special from all the places I visit, but the mass-produced figurines all look like crap, and there are only so many tshirts one person can stand to look at. I do like the Greek connecting chains they use for so many necklaces and what not. If anyone has suggestions as to what really Greek souvenior I just can't leave without, let me know.*

*Keep in mind I am travelling with a backpack and must carry or mail home everything.

Leslie and I booked our ferries to the islands, we are going to Tinos first to see some houses she might rent. After that we'll be going to Santorini (Thira) to view the breathtaking sunsets. Leslie has to come back on Tuesday, but I will go to Ios on my own for a while to party it up, then head back to Athens on the 18th. My flight to Milan is on the 19th, bright and early, so I'm going to get my fill of Greece until then. Tonight Leslie, John, and I might go out to their local taverna for a bite to eat... apparently it has great octopus. I have never tried octopus before, but it might happen. Saw another McDonalds today- under no circumstances will I be eating at a western food chain, so if octopus is the alternative then that's what I'll do!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

AcropolisAcropolis
Acropolis

Commanding presence, no?
damageddamaged
damaged

Standing tall for thousands of years, then we start polluting and it wrecks it.


10th May 2006

Greek souvernirs..
Hola babe! I can think of at least one souvenir...perhaps with the name Stravos, or Kostas, or someone who's last name ends in "oulos". Bring one for me and Jayna please!! And remind your mom that no news is good news!! Or maybe bring back an olive branch head wreath for your toga parties! Have tons o' fun! Miss ya!
10th May 2006

Sounds like your having a good trip! The weather in good ole england has finally picked up so you should have sunshine when you come back. Hope you enjoy the rest of your trip!
10th May 2006

Andrea! Everything sounds so amazing I forget if you're going into France anytime soon but Zach said if you were near him he'd take you around too! Because he's on his holidays right now. So justt lemmmee know. I was looking for something special from Greece and Octopus was definitely not on there.. At least you'll know what it is and no one told YOU it was chicken .. : ) Hope you have an amazing time in Milan < I can't wait to see all your pictures!:) Have you sent some to us? See you when you get Home I love you!! xoxo
10th May 2006

McDee's
Andrea! sounds like you are having a fab time, and im glad to hear you are sticking with the MIT tradition and not giving into the McDonaldization of the world! hahaha love you! xoxo ps Everything in England is wonderful!
11th May 2006

Walkin' & Cruisin'
Hi Andrea, sounds like you're having my kind of holiday...lots of walking, and cruising/ferrying to the islands. Sounds heavenly. I think that jewelry is always something good to get from your visits. Maybe you could collect earrings or charms (ya know, for charm bracelets). Well, at least they don't take up a lot of room in your backpack. Maybe you get some cds with traditional music. Enjoy the islands...Love, Mom
12th May 2006

Octopii
How's the exotic food, like octopii and squid...oops, I mean calamari. Sounds better than squid. Hope you're enjoying the touristy stuff and seeing lots of beautiful sunsets. Maybe even a sunrise?! (I suppose you'll only see a sunrise if you happen to stay up all night, not much chance you'll actually get up early to see it). I'm travelling with you...in my mind. Right now, we're on the beach with the crystal clear water. Hope you're getting in lots of vacation time on the beaches, and getting to learn some of the lingo. Enjoy! Love ya lots, Mom
13th May 2006

Greek Souvenirs
Hey Andrea, How's the sunset in Santorini? Did you go to Ancient Thira? I read that if you're interested in jewelry, Athens is the best place to shop...maybe Les can help you with this one. The other things recommended are leather goods, copies of ancient and Byzantine Greek art. The other things are hard to carry, such as pottery and rugs from sheep or goat's wool. Just some info for you from my travel book. I'm following your adventures from my armchair/computer. Love ya, Mom

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.031s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb