First entry from abroad!


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
May 10th 2006
Published: May 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone, first update from 'on the road'. This entry is being typed by me (kelly) this time around, as I couldn't stand writing in the 3rd person, like footballers do.

Anyway, we got here fine, courtesy of Thomson Hols, boy do I hate package holidays, flights full of chav familys, with lousy clothes and burberry luggage, but we survived check in nonetheless. This despite the fact that the SNOTTIEST scottish woman in all of Gatwick managed to check us in and seat us apart, across the flippin aisle from each other. Those of you that know me well (so all of you then!) know I hate take off, but I was a brave girl and managed not to die from fear, especially as I was unable to hold Ju's hand on take off.

So, after a 5 min transfer from the shed, i mean zante airport, we checked in to our hotel, the Venus, v nice, typical Greek hotel. Bashed shins on the rock hard bed frame, unpacked and went for a stroll to locate places of interest, eg bars with Sky Sports. I am ashamed to say, we have watched LOADS of football since being here, Mike if you're reading - you're not going to CARDIFF!!! (palace fan, god love him).

We've sunbathed, we've paddled & we've drank a fair bit of Mythos greek beer, which is cheap. for a reason - the first sip tastes like muck, but at 1.5 Euro a pop you can't complain, I'm sure we will ingest worse.

Yesterday we went to Zante town & we met Mr & Mrs White Trash at the bus stop, who instantly wanted to be our best mates for some reason. I am being mean about them, but seriously, she had hairy armpits & he had socks on with his sandals. You know me, snob extroadinaire. we spent the afternoon avoiding them and looking round glorious little alleyways and the pretty impressive harbour. It's great to just be able to wander where the mood takes you.

I dont know if we'll update again in Greece, depends if the weather is ropey or not! Next weds we fly to south africa, after a night at lovely Gatwick, and I'm sure that's where the fun really starts. I'll probably be told off for trying to speak Sith Ifffricaan. Badly.

Take care everyone and try not to work too hard

Kel & Ju xx
PS no photos yet, we havent worked out how to upload.......

Advertisement



10th May 2006

Cheers
Try Metaxa Sour,preferably at breakfast. It better than the beer. And boy dont I know.
10th May 2006

Palace fan in mourning
Terrible...Glad to hear you are doing OK. Hopefully, you'll keep away from too many unsavoury characters. What's wrong with hairy armpits?

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0397s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb