Yeah...


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
October 8th 2008
Published: October 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So, I've been in Greece for a month and haven't done anything with this blog. It is not because I haven't had any time, because believe me I have had time. A month of doing a whole lot of nothing is what it feels like. Now I won't say that it's been all bad, because it hasn't. I've seen a couple things, traveled (to one place and back) and met a whole lot of people that I have no idea who they are or how they are related to me.

I am about 50% Greek. My Gia Gia (grandmother) is originally from Greece and has a lot of family here. That was the reason for coming here. And the reason why I got to come along is because Papou (grandfather) did not want to come and wanted someone to keep him company. Now I'm not complaining, it's been quite an experience. I got to see a different country and meet a few really nice people and hang out with my grandparents, which is something that no one can ever take away and something that I will remember and be glad for the rest of my life.

While I've been here a month and not written anything, I think now what I will do, since I'm leaving is make seperate entries on each of the things we did, or didn't do.

The plane ride over wasn't bad. I slept pretty much the whole time and watched the Chronicles of Narnia: Price Caspian. The food was terrible. And the time difference once we arrived in Athens really got me. I slept for a day and a half and felt horrible for about 3 days.

We stayed with Gia Gia's brother, who has an apartment in a kind of suburb in Athens, called Argyroupoli (I probably spelled that wrong). I had my own room, which was good. The thing about Athens is that it's loud. There are a lot of drivers, which means a lot of cars, which means a whole lot of unnecessary honking. The first week or so that we were here, we didn't do much. We went and visited relatives and I met more cousins and family. Listened to Gia Gia freak out about Eleni and her kids coming to live with us and packing and unpacking my stuff and moving from room to room, only to be told to move back into the room I was in.

Why didn't we get a hotel room? Because that's not allowed in Gia Gia's family.

This is a little long, so I'll stop for now and the next entry I will talk about when we went to the Acropolis.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0301s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb