Sept 7


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
September 8th 2008
Published: September 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Sept 7, 2009

A much needed relaxing weekend. Went for a run at the stadium yesterday around 4…bad idea sooooo ridiculously hot! Last night, the room mates were all wiped from their day at the beach and I too from exploring the neighborhood all day, so we all stayed in and watched 27 Dresses on one of the girl’s lap tops, turning our living room into a home theater of sorts.

Got up somewhat early this morning to go “running” again at the stadium. At around 85, it was at least somewhat cooler than yesterday afternoon. As Artemis told me in her email the other day, after August 15th the Greeks begin to say kali xeimona or “good winter”!! I’d love to witness their response to the month of February in either Maine or Michigan!

After the run (and another much appreciated shower) went to Starbucks to do some reading. I’m an addict, what can I say… but at 2.80 Euro for a tall Americano, its still surprisingly cheaper than a frappe at many other places in our neighborhood. We were told at orientation that coffee in Athens is so expensive because you are also paying for your seat at the café. Unlike we hurried Americans, Greeks drink their coffee/espresso at their leisure, often lingering at a café w/ their parea (group of friends) for hours. Not a bad lifestyle if you ask me!

This afternoon I swear I searched every single flag/light pole near the stadium for the “Maineacs” sticker Roz and her fellow Air Forcers left on their visit in April, but sadly could not find it. (Sorry guys) Did get some pretty pictures of the stadium and the track though, will load these soon.

Found a great little gyro/souvlaki place very close to the apartment and got a chicken souvlaki and a veggie kabob for dinner. With my homework for tomorrow done, I was scrounging for something to do. Browsing the English newspaper I bought earlier, I noticed a listing for cinemas all around Athens. Leslie, Liz and I went - after they stopped at the gyro place as well - to see “The Accidental Husband” at a cinema that ended up being decently close. Typical, cute, romantic comedy; oh Hollywood and your hopelessly unrealistic portrayal of the male gender (and, admittedly, we females as well). The theater itself was quite nice, and, again, really close, but at 9 Euro a ticket I don’t know how often I’ll be going there. Hopefully will get to go to one of the outdoor movie theaters sometime soon. (and yes, Annie, I’ll save my movie ticket stubs to mail you for your collection!)

As of tomorrow will have been here a week! Can’t believe how fast it has gone by already! Am looking forward to getting into a routine with classes and what not though; found myself getting a little bored this weekend. Especially today, Sunday, when just about everything is closed - Greeks are still very family/religion oriented and taking Sunday off is still a high priority.

Am getting more and more comfortable with speaking Greek when in public. Like at the movie theater where the ticket counter girl did not speak any English or at the grocery store yesterday when a yiayia (grandmother) struck up a conversation with me in the elevator about how ridiculously slow the doors close…or at least I think that’s what she was talking about haha.

Tomorrow night all of us students are attending a “garden party” at the President of CYA’s home in Kifissia. Am looking forward to some good food and meeting more CYA-ers. Guess that’s all for tonight! Kali Nuxta Ola!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0315s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb