Athens by Day and Night


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
May 6th 2007
Published: May 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Suzanne in the PlakaSuzanne in the PlakaSuzanne in the Plaka

What a glorious morning in Athens. Hardly any people in the main tourist section at 10:00 am. Wonderful!
Rise and shine… we both woke up early at 7:45 am. It was a beautiful morning and we took our time to get ready. Both of us enjoyed a nice warm shower in our cute little bathroom. By 9:45 we were out the doors looking for a new adventure in the city of Athens. I brought my camera and enjoyed the serenity of the warm spring morning down the streets. The sounds of many birds were chirping and you could hear church bells and choirs in the background. A very peaceful and glorious morning. After a little exploration and finally finding a map, we were able to see where we were going. Our trek led us to the flea market. Although it was interesting at first, it became repetitive and irritating after awhile as both of us were getting very hungry. Looking around for breakfast was a challenge. Apparently Greeks don’t really eat breakfast. They drink coffees and eat sugared donuts from around 10:00 - 11:45 am. Only a few spots actually have a kitchen open for serving food in the morning. After walking for a couple of hours, we finally found the spot we wanted to eat and settled
Monastiraki Flea MarketMonastiraki Flea MarketMonastiraki Flea Market

Just entering the flea market
down to a meal of scrambled eggs and fried red tomatoes. It included a coffee, which was a frappe. What a great deal. It cost $8.50 Euro for breakfast. Not bad, we thought. On the way back to the hotel , I stopped into a shop that had carpets as I was curious as to how much they would cost here. As we entered, I looked up at the wall, only to hear a thump behind me. My mom had fallen on the ground due to slipping on the carpet. The salesman, myself and other men all ran to her rescue. I was frightened and worried that she really hurt herself, but fortunately she suffered only minor injuries. However, I felt that she needed to have some Arnica back at the hotel room. We walked slowly back to the hotel and after getting the arnica, decided to find a tour for the next day. We were able to book 2 tours, one for the 7th and one for today. The one for today, took us out of the main city of Athens, 1 hour away. What a beautiful drive on the bus. It was hazy and thus the light was flat making for some very nice photos. On our way back to town, I almost fainted from having to pea so badly. I finally asked the bus if it could stop so I could go. Thank goodness they were able to accommodate me. About 10 minutes later we were back in town and ready to go back to the hotel and change for dinner. On our way, I got confronted by a very young and cute Greek man. He very much lik ed tall women and thus was quite forward with me. His friend pointed to a church nearby and begged me to marry him the next day. LOL. We both giggled. I can’t say that I didn’t like the attention. They were young and cute, what more could a girl ask for?

After changing at the hotel, we found the dinner spot that had been recommended to us by our hotel clerk. It was fabulous.. Very similar to the way Dim Sum is offered, with the exception that all the dishes ar4e offered up right up front one time. You pick 5 dishes for 2 people. We chose the Dolmanthes, Greek salad with large chunks of feta, fried eggplant, wilted spinach and onion mixture and calamari in a red sauce. Of course no meal is complete without some table wine. This substantial meal came with dessert and only cost us $12 Euros each. Fantastic deal!

We headed back to our hotel room, so I could pick up my camera and take a photo of the bottles, the Acropolis at night and a few other sights.. Boy was that beautiful. Check out the photo.

Overall… a spectacular day.


Advertisement



7th May 2007

heard the blink blink on the computer this morning
and couldn't wait to check my mail. Sure enough there you two are. I am sooooo jealous! Thanks for doing the blog, it's great fun to read but I couldn't find the photos to open?
7th May 2007

Sounds like a lovely day.
Great to read your news so far - will look forward to more installments! Judy, your car is resting quietly in our garage - we thought we wouldn't have to worry about backing into it by mistake!! Hope you are OK after your fall.
8th May 2007

I'm bloody well envious of you, girl! It looks absolutely stunning there, and you look like a goddess! I love the hair! I hope your mom is doing better now, and I can't wait to hear more updates of your trip. Enjoy some saganaki and retsina wine for me, hon! OPA! Love, Jess
8th May 2007

Faux P. Hilton Pose
Oh you lovely fortunate women! The Plaka is a nice backdrop to your casual model pose Suz! Oh I know it isnt anything like Paris'! Hope Judy's feeling better - this is only the beginning so she doesnt have time to feel sore! Carry on having marvelous adventures! Love, Judy
11th May 2007

HIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIII!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
OMG as soon as you left the weather got great were having like plus 25 and higher, i cant believe that guy asked you to marry him thats halarious, was he rich??? LOL anyways hope your having a great time! P.S. did you get me anything, just kidding Love yaeeee-----Aurelia
11th May 2007

hello?
hey...where are you guys? Looking forward to updates, but haven't heard any!!! Maybe you're having such a good time, you can't be bothered to update...I can understand!
11th May 2007

Hi mom!!!!
Hi mom I read on that sheet you are in egypt today and tomorrow. The weather has been beautiful here. I heard that you got proposed to a while ago.Lol. im gonna tell all my friends. You need to write a new blog!
12th May 2007

I got a wii
Ahhhhhhhh! Mom i cant believe it i got a wii. when i was at breanns house dad was in line to get a wii. they only got 20 and dad was costomer 19!!!!
13th May 2007

Got a wii
That's wonderful sweetheart! Somehow I knew that would happen while I was away. Good job. I look forward to seeing it later. Love you, Mom
13th May 2007

Delayed response
Sorry for the delay in getting more posts. They just rape you here for using he broadband connection. Lots of posts today though.
13th May 2007

Hey there
Hi Aurelia... sorry its been awhile since I wrote. It's expensive to use the internet here, even if I have my own laptop. So I will keep this short. I love you lots and think about you often. The pyramids of Egypt were amazing!!!!
13th May 2007

Hey there
Hi Jess.... I'm loving this weather and beauty and everything else in between. What an amazing trip. The pyramids were amazing. I have thought about you many many times. We should plan a trip together some time in the future, if you're up for it.

Tot: 0.178s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.032s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb