In and out of Athens


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens » Pláka
June 14th 2016
Published: June 14th 2016
Edit Blog Post

I see I have been slacking again on the blog front - sorry about that!

Sunday I finally got to ride a Greek train, and it was a great trip. I was in a six-seat compartment - very old-fashioned, but a brand new carriage. The trip was long because the train really slowed down when it was winding its way through a couple of ranges of hills. I didn't mind at all because the scenery was fantastic. At one point we were passing through deeply-eroded limestone with plunging gorges and cross-capped pinnacles.

Yesterday was taken up by practical matters, primarily getting the third rabies jab. True to form this proved to involve travelling to two widely-separated places and spending a lot of time waiting. Anyway, it's done. Number 4 will happen in Germany and it will be interesting to see whether the Bavarians handle this sort of thing any more efficiently than the Turks and Greeks.

Today I made a field trip to the island of Aegina, a few km off the coast in the Saronic Gulf. There's a magnificent early Greek temple on a hilltop there in the middle of a pine forest - what a site!

(Sheri: if you're reading this, tonight I went back to Platanos, where you, Kevin, Brenda, Peter and I had a drink one night and tried their μπριζολα. Mmm, mmm, good!)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0538s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb