The islands of Greece


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Aegina
July 17th 2008
Published: August 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

My ride to Aegina

I think this is where the island is, since I can't read Greek. Feel free to correct me if I'm wrong.

Sailing the high seas of GreeceSailing the high seas of GreeceSailing the high seas of Greece

Well, not exactly sailing, but the Greek shirt and Greek beer set the mood!
Coming towards the end of my time here in Greece, I had to take everyone's advice and visit the islands. I am very glad I did, for this place was beautiful! A key piece of advice though, buy your boat tickets early. I wanted to see some of the more famous islands of Greece, but alas, all tickets were sold out. However, there is a very easy access island by ferry only 45 minutes one way, Aegina. The island was great and really gave me a different view of Greece besides the major city of Athens.

The ferry ride was pleasant enough, and going through the Mediterranean was really nice. Once I arrived, I have now come to find another place that if offered a job, I just may take it on the spot. Thus far, that list includes Hawaii, Paris and now the Greek islands. I am sure as I see more places, this list will grow. Be forewarned though, in a beautiful tropical place, if I get a job, it may be the last entry everyone sees.

On the island, there were some neat shops and some really good food. Soon after I had a meal I decided to rent a bike and ride along the coast. They used to rent motorcycles, but I am sad to say they stopped before my arrival. The bicycle ride was great though. All along I saw houses that would lead to an easy to live life. The island was definitely set a part from the major hustle and bustle of the city. It was much more laid back, and I really had some time to sit and enjoy the sea.

The highlight for me was seeing people sailing around the beach. All I could think was wow, that's where I have to get next. I suppose coming form the mountains, I am simply fascinated by the sea. I'm not sure who wouldn't be though when they are drinking a beer and enjoying the sun on the beach.

At the end of the day, I had to catch the ferry back. After I got back to my hostel and packed, I prepared for an early morning flight back to the US. This will be my last entry until I return back to Dubai. On my way back to Dubai I will be stopping by Spain for a week. Hopefully I'll have some more stories and pictures to share soon enough!



Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

An alley within the cityAn alley within the city
An alley within the city

Many colorful and interesting places to walk within the town.
An idea of the Mediterranean SeaAn idea of the Mediterranean Sea
An idea of the Mediterranean Sea

You can see how clear the water is here. Keep in mind, it's warm as well!
My next dreamMy next dream
My next dream

Well, here it is, the place where I should be in 5 years so long as all goes well!
Lawn-mower-car-thing?Lawn-mower-car-thing?
Lawn-mower-car-thing?

I guess when you live in paradise, you can pretty much do what you want.
On my way back to the dockOn my way back to the dock
On my way back to the dock

More nice boats, looking tempting.
A friend I made on the dockA friend I made on the dock
A friend I made on the dock

This guy is ready for action!
An interesting night itemAn interesting night item
An interesting night item

On my way back to the hostel, I noticed a late night snack, cooled coconut.


Tot: 0.202s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 58; dbt: 0.1165s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb