First Week


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany
June 8th 2012
Published: June 8th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Well, I've been in Germany about 5 days now. I'm surprised at how flat it is. My last European experience was Greece which is all mountains so this is very different. I got here just fine, no plane problems, and am unpacked. I'm still settling in. My host family is really nice, as is my room. I even have my own bathroom and little kitchen. I still feel very out of place and a little homesick. People tell me that will go away. I haven't even been here a week, afterall.

I'm having my first real adventure today. Taking the train from Stendal to Potsdam where Julie will pick me up. I'm definitely nervous about meeting her. And getting lost. I don't really get how this whole train thing works seeing as how I'm from a place that doesn't believe in good public transportation.

It's a lot colder here than I expected. At home it was so hot we could swim. I've worn long sleeves every day I've been here. Hopefully it will get warmer soon.

There are definite perks to being here. No poisonous snakes or spiders, no tornados, open minded government. There are drawbacks too of course. The biggest one being that we live smack dab in the middle of nowhere. I miss living in the city where everything is close and open late.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0683s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb