Rudesheim Or However it's spelled


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany
October 11th 2011
Published: October 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Tomorrow morning we motor away from Koblenz and head to Rudesheim. I may have this UNESCO site wrong, butbI am working with an older brain and a hunt and peck on the iPad typing style. I appreciate your bearing with me! I believe I figured out why photos won't upload too. I think it's the X Factor. Or the X something that isn't computing. My mother would nod with pride if I told her I couldn't upload photos because of the incompatible X factor. Oh but I miss my Mom, the amazing Vivian. No one loves you so completely as your mother ... If you are lucky. Love your moms people, and count your blessings if they are still earthly beings. There truly is nothing like a Mom. No apologies to Rogers and Hammerstein. This is truth - there is Nothing Like A Mom. Remember and respect this truth please.
So we hung out in Koblenz. There is a Turkish riverboat right next to us, which is exotically interesting. My feet hurt from all the walking today, but Jeff and Butto had a
fabulously funny dusk. Here's the story:
Bicycles are available for passengers but after the old castle traipsing, Honey laid down for a snooze and I played Words with Friends with Muffie (I mean Donna) and Lisa. Jeff & Butto took bicycles to ride through Koblenz. The bikes have wide tires so they don't mire in the cobblestone grooves.
Jeff zipped down a couple of blocks then realized Butto wasn't behind him. He turned around to find Butto and heard this booming laugh about 2 blocks away. He pedaled up to see Butto with six strangers clustered around him, all wanting directions. No one is sure what is funnier - that Butto was giving directions to people, that he was riding a bicycle for the first time in 40 years, or that Butto speaks only Englishvand had been in Rudesheim maybe 10 hours max!
Jeff collects Butto (who explained that he will obey every law implied or explicit because he does not speak German, has not ridden a bike in 40 years, and his passport and ID are on the ship with Honey). They ride on and see this fabulous flower show Lisa and Doug Halter would love. They learn Rudesheim neglected to get permits for said flower show (putting UNESCO status at risk) and appreciate the rebelliousness.
They return to the ship and we have a nice dinner. There is entertainment in the lounge after the meal. Butto says the singer sounds distressed, Jeff explains that she is yodeling. I ask if she's singing the chicken song but get only blank stares. I will not ask Butto for Koblenz directions either.
We survive the night with another round of the Butto Bowl. This is a multi round Cribbage game, and it's tied right now. I have learned how to sayv

Advertisement



Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0436s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb