Shopping, Fountains, and Ice Cream


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany
April 20th 2006
Published: April 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

We went into Idar-Oberstein today. I had some delicious wurst. I’ve been living in Germany for over a year now, and this was my first wurst experience. It has always looked unappealing to me, but darling daughter was hungry and she kept shouting that she wanted a “hotdog,” so I bought her some wurst. It was too much for her to eat, so I helped her out. It was delicious. It tasted like maple-syrup flavored link sausages, but the texture was better.
We bought a toy porcelain tea set. I was very impressed with the selections of tea sets in Germany. The tea cups/saucers we purchased have teddy bears in thoughtful patterns on them. Very cute. And when I got the set home, there was paperwork inside saying that 50% of the company’s profits goes to aid schools in impoverished nations. Bonus.
We spent time playing in the outdoor fountain. It’s a wonderful fountain with evenly spaced stepping stones that lead you to a cave in the middle (directly underneath the big fountain). June Bug couldn’t help but get a little bit wet, even though I warned her that it was cold. (I didn’t have a change of clothes for her, so I was a nervous wreck, but then again, I couldn’t blame her for lingering.) Finally, she left the water when I told her we had to go get ice cream.
She got a strawberry cone. Then we did some more shopping and caught the bus home.

Advertisement



19th May 2006

I'm so glad to see that you're blogging again. I enjoyed reading your previous entries.

Tot: 0.217s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0837s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb