Za Schutenfest = Zer Good


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany
September 2nd 2007
Published: September 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The Boys are Back!The Boys are Back!The Boys are Back!

Back in business baby!!!
My great friend Christian had been telling me about this "Schutzenfest marching/drinking" weekend for a while, I think he might have even mentioned it a couple of times when we were studying in the states together. He had tried to explain this Schutzenfest thing to me many times but I could not quite grasp it other than the whole marching and drinking part. So being only a hop and a skip away from London I jumped on a German Wings flight from Stansted to Koln/Bonn to find out what all the HOOPLA was about.
Before I could say "Prost!" I was at Carlos' house with a cold beer in my hand and talking shiser in German.
From that BBQ on the whole weekend was very much a whirlwind blur of well drinking and marching (with some singing). Who would have thought!!
It's the biggest in Germany with the town of Neuss growing by 3 times its normal size and up to around 6000 schutze.

What a weekend it was. Honestly one of the most enjoyable and memorable weekends in a long time. Just incredible.
The thing that made it the most enjoyable were Christians mates in his Sook, Ert Bevart.
Bumper CarsBumper CarsBumper Cars

Always fun when you re drunk. I could not make the bloody thing go forward though.
(butchering the spelling!) Basically his fraternity brothers. Such awesome guys, they really are. There are so many characters, always laughing and messing about and always have a beer on hand for a friend in need.
The first evening we dressed up in our suits and went marching through the street carrying lanterns. My first time marching ever. Really cool actually.
We had many more marches and it was quite a feeling all marching together with people ram packed on the sides cheering and the women running out of the crowd beaming with joy to give their significant others some flowers. It sort of reminded me of those war movies you see of the young men marching off to war and women throwing flowers everywhere and the soldiers with broad smiles on their faces. It was an amazing feeling to get a small taste of that.
We had dances and balls every night which always involved a good dance at the end. The Germans might not be very good at football, making cars or making beer but boy can they party. When Germans party, they party hard. I remember this well from my first trip there to Berlin in 2000. Zose
Ert Bevart!!Ert Bevart!!Ert Bevart!!

That's more or less how you spell it.
crazy Germans!! Love it.
I was also quite blown away by the number of gorgeous German women, it was astounding!!

There are too many great stories for a mere blog, so many good memories. A massive thank you too all the guys and girls who made me feel so welcome. You were amazing and I consider you all as a friend of mine. You have a house in London to call your own.

Will I be at the Schutzenfest 2008 to celebrate the 10th anniversary of Ert Bevart??
I've already bought my flight!


Additional photos below
Photos: 48, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

KarnivalKarnival
Karnival

Marius, Christian 3 and me
Lining upLining up
Lining up

For our first march of the weekend. What a march it was.
The Hirschen'sThe Hirschen's
The Hirschen's

Wonderful family
Genius!Genius!
Genius!

They have these in the urinals from the WC. It's a goal with a ball hanging from it. Provides minutes upon minutes of entertainment.
Dr AndriusDr Andrius
Dr Andrius

Top class bloke. Good to see him again. Another surgeon that smokes, go figure!
Mr Lover, LoverMr Lover, Lover
Mr Lover, Lover

No, not really but he tries!!
Christians MomChristians Mom
Christians Mom

Such a sweet lady. Always a smile on her face.
Getting readyGetting ready
Getting ready

After a wonderful breakfast at Christian #6's house
Good IDEAGood IDEA
Good IDEA

Jan and Cladius with their pre marching warming up. Submarines those are called, basically a headache in a glass.
Someone stole my camera, ok!Someone stole my camera, ok!
Someone stole my camera, ok!

I have no idea why they kept taking pics.
3's company3's company
3's company

When you got to go, you just got to go.
A JaegerA Jaeger
A Jaeger

Carrying one of the many horns of flowers. These babies go for lots of Euros and there are tons of them.


12th September 2007

SuperTollSpitzeKlasse!
yeah, got to say: those german -can- rock! Defenitely! See you soon, flying on the 19th to Southampton! All the best!
21st September 2007

HANDSOME
You are so handsome my boy. Even with all that crazy German garb on. I love you.

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.065s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb