The Journey Home


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Schleswig-Holstein » Lübeck
January 6th 2008
Published: January 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The journey home was anything but fun. After we found out that the airport was not in the town we thought it was, I left Inna and Alex in Unterluss and rode the train to Lubeck. By the time I got to Lubeck it was about 10:00 pm. I then waited for a bus to take me out to the airport where I intended to spend the night since I didn't want to pay 65 euro for a hotel room for what would amount to about 5 hours. So at about 11 I got out to the airport, walked up to the doors, pulled, and discovered that they must lock the airport for the night. The bus was, of course, gone. I tried every door about 10 times before giving up and going to the bus stop. Luckily another bus was coming at 11:52 - the last bus of the night. I froze for a bit before the bus came, it was the same driver, and then made my way back to the train station. The unfortunate thing about the train station was that it had not fully enclosed space, so to stay there would be a very cold wait. It was now 12:30. At 1:07 there was a train headed to Hamburg which I knew was a larger city and had a chance of an enclosed place at the train station. So, since I had days left on my rail pass, I jumped on the train and slept, sort of, to Hamburg. Unfortunately, Hamburg didn't really have heated, enclosed places either. But McDonalds was open so I had a very late night snack and then later some bad tea, because it was warm and I knew I couldn't bring myself to drink coffee. At 5:05 I got back on a train to Lubeck and promptly fell asleep. I sleep so well that I almost didn't get off the train, but thankfully Lubeck was the last stop. I then got back on the bus to the airport. Which was still locked. I waited for about 10 before they finally opened the airport. My flight left on time and got in on time. I got through London Stansted with no problems, but had a blank when the customs lady asked me what I was studying. I then had a 4 hour bus ride to Nottingham and I slept for 3 hours of it. I was super excited to be back at the flat and those of us who got home on Saturday were a bit crazy and extremely happy.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.38s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 20; qc: 69; dbt: 0.1964s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb